Best Laid Plans…

This week didn’t really go as planned.  I missed bootcamp this week both Tuesday and today.  I had an appointment for a haircut and colour on Tuesday and since I book 6 to 8 weeks ahead (I’m not even kidding – my stylist is crazy busy!), there was no way I was going to try and reschedule.  As it is, I booked my next haircut and it’s in mid-May.

Today, I had good intentions of going, but then I just realized that if I went, I would be scrambling time-wise for the entire day.  So instead of bootcamp, I tried out a new workout I had bought and downloaded from iTrain a little while ago.  It was sort of bootcamp-ish, with squat thrusts, mountain climbers, jumping jacks, etc.  It didn’t require any weights, which was kind of nice because it meant I didn’t have to go down to the dreaded unfinished basement where our equipment is, but I have to say that I didn’t absolutely love it.  It didn’t have a warm up, and I realized that I like a few minutes to get the blood flowing before I jump right into squats and pushups. After about 35 minutes of strength/calisthenics work, I moved onto abs.  The abs section was a repetition of planks, reverse curls, and toe-touches (crunches with legs in the air, arms overhead, and you touch your toes), but my abs were sure burning by the end of it, and there was some stretching at the end. Overall, it was a pretty decent workout and very simple.  It would be a great workout for on the road, too, because weights aren’t required.

This week was very busy at school and I ended up staying late pretty much every night, including last night.  I often like to go for a run when I get home on Fridays, but since it was 7:30pm by the time I got home and I was super-hungry, I had supper with the family, put my daughter to bed, and watched part of a movie while cuddling on the couch with my son and husband before falling asleep around 9pm.  I’ve got 2 big midterms next week, so I expect several late nights this week, too.  That puts a damper on my workout schedule, for sure, because I know it’s going to be tough to take what amounts to 1 1/2 to 2 hrs out of my schedule (workout plus driving) on Tuesday to hit bootcamp.  I guess I’ll see how the studying goes this weekend and then make a decision.

As for running, I would like to go for a quick run this afternoon, since I didn’t get out yesterday, and then I’ll go for a 4.5k slow, easy run tomorrow – for real, this time.  I hope to squeeze in some running intervals later in the week – hopefully Thursday night, or maybe Wednesday if I end up missing bootcamp.

I don’t have much of a social life to speak of, but tonight my husband and I are going to a wind-up for my son’s hockey team – just for the parents. 🙂  If this weren’t an amazing group of people, I wouldn’t be going.  I would probably be studying or hanging out with my kids while my husband went – he’s the extrovert in the relationship.  Luckily we were absolutely thrilled with the group of parents we met this year.  It was our son’s first year of hockey and of course we’ve heard so many horror stories about crazy hockey parents, so we were a little nervous about the personalities we might encounter.  Everyone from the coaches to the team manager and treasurer to all of the other parents were such a pleasure to deal with.  Now I just have to figure out some kind of appetizer/snack to bring.  I’m leaning towards veggies so that I know there’s something healthy to munch, but I might make something else.  I dunno yet.  I’m feeling indecisive.

What’s your go-to, quick-and-easy appetizer or snack to bring to events? Feel free to include a link to a recipe!

3 thoughts on “Best Laid Plans…

  1. Holly @ The Runny Egg says:

    Jason is definitely the extrovert in our relationship as well. For events I usually make guac (just something quick like avocados + chopped tomato, onion, some garlic salt and cumin, splash of lemon or lime juice) — mostly because I love guac. Or, I bring a veggie/fruit tray. To me it seems like the boring thing to bring, but guess what, everyone eats it!

    Like

Leave a comment