Meal Planning Monday

It’s Monday again, which means it’s time for me to post my meal plan for the week.  For brevity’s sake, I’ll sum up and say that I have oatmeal, 1 serving of dairy, and 1 serving of fruit for breakfast every day.  Yes, I actually DO eat oatmeal pretty much every day.  It may seem a little boring, but it works for me.  I have a few favourite oatmeal recipes that I use regularly.  Click here to see them.  For morning and evening snacks, I have  a piece of fruit, and in the afternoon, I’ll snack on yogurt and, you guessed it, fruit.

Lunch and supper take a little more planning, since grocery shopping and judicious thawing is required.  So, here’s what I’m eating this week:

Monday:

Lunch – Baja Salad with Shrimp from Boston Pizza

Supper – 1 hot dog on a whole wheat bun (yeah, I know, not that healthy), steamed broccoli, carrots

Tuesday:

Lunch: grilled chicken; Smart Pasta with garlic, olive oil, and parmesan; cucumbers; tomatoes

Supper: pork tenderloin, grilled potatoes, grilled carrots

Wednesday:

Lunch: leftover pork tenderloin, cucumbers, spinach, raspberry vinaigrette,  feta, 2 slices whole wheat bread

Supper: Quinoa, Chicken, and Broccoli Casserole, spinach, cucumbers, tomatoes, raspberry vinaigrette

Thursday:

Lunch: ham, 2 slices whole wheat bread, spinach, baby carrots, tomatoes

Supper: grilled chicken, grilled potatoes, grilled carrots and onions

Friday:

Lunch: out of town, so will be eating out – probably a salad or a sub

Supper: chicken, green beans, fresh bread

Saturday:

Lunch: chicken, cucumbers, tomatoes, rice/quinoa

Supper: grilled lean steak, grilled potatoes, grilled mixed veggies (zucchini, peppers, mushrooms)

Sunday:

Lunch: 2 eggs, 2 slices whole wheat toast with margarine, chopped tomatoes with oregano

Supper: lean hamburger; whole wheat hamburger bun; spinach with cranberries, feta, raspberry vinaigrette; grilled mushrooms

NOTE: The Quinoa, Chicken, and Broccoli Casserole recipe comes from EatingRD.com.  I’ve had my eye on it for awhile, but haven’t got around to trying it out yet.  Well, this is the week!  I’ll be freezing a portion of it to see how well it freezes, as part of my quest to find recipes that I can simply thaw and heat during the busy school year.


2 thoughts on “Meal Planning Monday

Leave a comment