Join the 21 Day Happiness Challenge!

21 Day Happiness Challenge

Everyone wants to be happier.

That’s a big generalization, I know, but I’ve yet to meet anyone who’s said, “My life is too awesome. I think I want to be less happy.”

Increasing my level of happiness has been a hobby for a couple of years now, because I knew my life was pretty good, yet I never truly felt satisfied. In fact, I felt greedy because I had so much great stuff going on and still felt blah about life. I had healthy kids, a husband I liked and who helped out a lot around the house, travel opportunities, a nice house, my own business, and a career where I get to make a real difference in people’s lives on a daily basis.

At the same time, there were aspects of my life that were bringing me down: a business that wasn’t going the way I wanted it to, a mountain of debt, feeling overwhelmed with managing a business and employees, the tediousness of daily chores at home, feeling frustrated with parenting, and feeling guilty about being frustrated. Oh yeah, and being overweight.

As I usually do, I turned to books for answers. I started with Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project, and then moved onto Tal Ben-Shahar’s Being Happy. I started working with a life coach, and tuned into podcasts from Brook Castillo. My daily schedule changed to include meditation and keeping a gratitude journal, and I started practicing yoga regularly.

Did my life situation change from then to now? Not really. The debt is still there, my business challenges are still there, I yell at my kids more than I would like (it’s a work in process), the dishes and laundry and meal prep are still there.

Am I happier than I was two years ago? That’s a giant HELL YEAH!

Could I be happier still? Absolutely, so I’m challenging myself – and you – to a 21 day happiness challenge as a jumpstart to my mood.

Over the next 21 days, I’ll be setting a task for each day, ranging from buying yourself flowers to luxuriating in a bathing experience to writing a list of things you’re grateful for.

Want to make sure you’re in on the challenge? Sign up for my blog posts, and get happier one day at a time. The 21 Day Happiness Challenge starts Friday, May 13th, 2016!

 

2 thoughts on “Join the 21 Day Happiness Challenge!

  1. At Margareta's Haus says:

    I think this is great! Count me in and if you don’t mind I will write a post and link your blog to help you spread the word.

    Like

Leave a Reply

