40 Weeks to 40 on Throwback Thursday: My 40 Favourite Songs

I love music. It shapes my mood, lifts my heart, sets my foot to tapping, and serves as a backdrop for my life.

Right now, in fact, as I take a break in my work day to get my thoughts out onto virtual paper, I’m listening to a Songza playlist called Soaring Morning because I was in need of enlivening and “Soaring Morning” sounded like exactly the right fit.

40 Weeks to 40 & Throwback Thursday My 40 Favourite Songs - mostlyfitmom.comThe countdown to my 40th birthday continues, and today I’m sharing a list of my 40 favourite songs. These are the ones I sing along to when I’m driving down the highway across these open plains, I dance along to in my kitchen as I’m putting away the dirty dishes, I bop my head to when I hear them in the grocery store and I’m deciding between baby kale and baby spinach. They are the songs that I listened to on my clock radio in the basement bedroom of my parents house when I was a teenager, that I sang along to as I danced with my high school boyfriend, that I absolutely had to include on all of my running playlists because they make me narrow my eyes and go for it. They are the soundtrack of my life, entangled with the most important of my memories. Enjoy!

  1. ACDC – Thunderstruck
  2. The Knack – My Sharona
  3. Counting Crows – Mr. Jones
  4. Bryan Adams – Summer of ’69
  5. Nitty Gritty Dirt Band – Fishin’ in the Dark
  6. Roxette – Joyride
  7. Journey – Don’t Stop Believin’
  8. Def Leppard – Pour Some Sugar on Me
  9. Poison – Talk Dirty to Me
  10. Bon Jovi – Wanted Dead or Alive
  11. ABBA – Take a Chance
  12. Madonna – Material Girl
  13. Billy Joel – We Didn’t Start the Fire
  14. Kenny Loggins – Footloose
  15. Living Color – Cult of Personality
  16. Motley Crue – Kickstart My Heart
  17. Nelly Furtado – I’m Like A Bird
  18. Tom Cochrane – Life is a Highway
  19. Elton John – Saturday Night’s Alright (For Fighting)
  20. Dixie Chicks – Ready to Run
  21. Foo Fighters – Learn to Fly
  22. Bon Jovi – Livin’ on a Prayer
  23. Rihanna – Don’t Stop the Music
  24. Bruno Mars – Grenade
  25. Bruno Mars – Locked Out of Heaven
  26. Usher – DJ Got Us Fallin’ In Love
  27. Pink – Raise Your Glass
  28. Pat Benatar – Hit Me With Your Best Shot
  29. Heart – Barracuda
  30. Honeymoon Suite – Feel It Again
  31. Justin Timberlake – Sexy Back
  32. The Killers – When You Were Young
  33. George Michael – Faith
  34. Ke$ha – TiK ToK
  35. Lenny Kravitz – Are You Gonna Go My Way
  36. Nirvana – Smells Like Teen Spirit
  37. Sara Bareilles – Love Song
  38. U2 – Desire
  39. Starship – We Built This City
  40. Bangles – Walk Like An Egyptian

Which songs bring up your fondest memories?

2 thoughts on “40 Weeks to 40 on Throwback Thursday: My 40 Favourite Songs

Leave a Reply

