6 Self-Help Books to Read in 2015

Self-Help Books 2015Whenever I go to the bookstore – any bookstore – I invariably gravitate to the self-help section. Those shelves hold so many promises for a better life, a wonderful life, and indeed, I have found some books that I love. Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain, Organizing from the Inside Out by Julie Morgenstern, and The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin come to mind.

More often, though, I am seduced by the promises made on the book covers and often lose interest a chapter or two in. Fiction is my true love, an escape from my daily troubles, while self-help too often feels like a chore.

Changing your life does take work though, doesn’t it?

I don’t expect that reading a single book will lead me to overhaul my life, whereby I create an amazing existence overnight. I have far too much mental baggage for that. My thoughts are a roadblock to living a happier life and it is a process to shift them. It’s like the say with “baby weight:” it took nine months to put on, it’ll take as long to take off. In this case, my thought patterns have been shaped over 39 years. I’m hoping it won’t take 39 years to change them, but it won’t be a weekend project, either.

A the beginning of the year, my life coach had me go through a workbook that helped me set intentions for 2015. As part of this process, I made a list of six books I will start and finish this year. Fiction seemed too easy. I can crank through your average novel in a day. Self-help, though, is more challenging, and potentially more beneficial. Not that you can’t learn things by reading fiction, but I tend to find that if something is hard, I get more out of it.

My list of six books covers several areas that I want to experience growth in this year: my parenting style and skills, my personal approach to life, my ability to manage my staff and be a leader, and my business in general. They are all books that I already own but have yet to read.

  1. If I Have to Tell You One More Time by Amy McCready (parenting)
  2. Daring Greatly by Brene Brown (personal approach to life)
  3. The Talent Management Handbook by Lance Berger and Dorothy Bergy (managing my staff)
  4. Good to Great by Jim Collins (growing my business)
  5. Primal Leadership by Daniel Goleman
  6. Everything is Marketing: The Ultimate Strategy for Dental Practice Growth by Fred Joyal

Are there any self-help books that you love?

Leave a Reply

