The Practice of Setting Daily Intentions

The Practice of Setting Daily Intentions - mostlyfitmom.comIt’s 7am and I have the whole day ahead of me. I can shape today so that it’s what I want it to be. Too often I arrive at the end of my day wondering what just happened. Yes, you do have to roll with it and accept reality as it happens, but too often lately I have failed to set out what I wanted my day to look like and I rolled into bed feeling like I missed the opportunity to make my life better. I’m not setting out to be Superwoman today, but I going to be deliberate in how I live today.

I’m new to the practice of setting intentions, just as I am new practicing yoga and practicing workout consistency. Practicing doesn’t mean perfection. It means doing your best, listening to what your body and mind are saying, and being curious about any resistance you feel.

In setting my intentions, I considered the following:

  1. What does my body need to feel good and be healthy today?
  2. What do I want to accomplish this week at work and what steps can I take today to accomplish those goals?
  3. What attitudes and mindset do I want to cultivate today?
  4. How do I want to feel today?

Here’s where those questions led me:

Today I am choosing to recognize the abundance in my life rather than focusing on the scarcity.

Today I am minimizing my online surfing time and maximizing the time I spend moving my body.

Today I am avoiding added sugar in order to boost my immune function.

Today I am bringing a water bottle to work and drinking lots of water and herbal tea.

Today I am choosing an early bedtime.

Today I am making a list of my three most important tasks and getting those done.

Today I am practicing yoga and riding the stationary bike as a way to show my body love.

Today I am choosing to feel calm and accepting.

Do you set intentions? How do you decide what’s important to you?

Leave a Reply

