Remembrance Day 2013

Lest We Forget 18x24Today, I’m watching the Remembrance Day ceremony in Ottawa and trying to teach my kids about why we observe Remembrance Day. I somehow thought that my kids would learn about Remembrance Day at school the way my husband and I did when we were kids, but it doesn’t sound like much attention has been paid to the topic. So, I looked online and found some information for my kids. I found some great resources on Teachers Pay Teachers.

I showed my kids a Powerpoint presentation, with photos related to WWI and WWII set to music. Click on the image to get to the website.

I also downloaded a package that includes some worksheets that help kids think about why we observe Remembrance Day and why we honour our soldiers. It also came from Teachers Pay Teachers. Click on the image to get to the website.

What did you do this Remembrance Day?

One thought on “Remembrance Day 2013

Leave a Reply

