Day 9 of 30: Getting Back Up

Friday was the kind of day where you get home and barely have the energy to get into bed. No workout, but I did four hours of painting. I didn’t food journal, either.

Yesterday, I continued slacking off. No food journal, no workout.

Today, I did a core workout and water was pretty good. What did I eat?

  • oatmeal with cinnamon, 3 tbsp raisins, vanilla, 1/3 c skim milk, and 1 tsp brown sugar
  • grande skinny peppermint mocha (love these!)
  • 1 can (2 servings) of clam chowder (I had a craving)
  • 1 mini Mars bar (Halloween leftovers)
  • 6 baby carrots
  • 2 c romaine lettuce with Caesar dressing
  • 1 slice homemade lasagna
  • 1 piece garlic bread
  • 1 Twisted shot (in celebration of the Riders win)
  • ripple chips and onion dip
  • 1 peppermint brownie

So clearly things went downhill as the day progressed, and, man, do I ever need to start eating more fruits and veggies.

My eating plan tomorrow?

  • oatmeal with raisins for breakfast
  • green monster smoothie, too – 1 c skim milk, 1 banana, 2 c spinach, 1 scoop protein powder
  • lasagna, baby carrots (NO garlic bread)
  • Oikos yogurt and apple
  • chicken breast with salsa and a little cheese, brown rice, green beans

Still not super-super healthy, but an improvement.

Keeping a food journal has made it apparent that I need to do more planning. I’m relying on eating out too much and choosing unhealthy snacks way too often. We also have a shortage of fruit and veggies in this house on a regular basis, which sure doesn’t make healthy eating easier. With Christmas coming up, I think it’s important that I take steps now to make sure that I keep any weight gain to a minimum. I plan to create a meal plan for the next month, fully expecting that it will have to be tweaked as I go along because we all know that the holidays can get out of control with extra activities.

What are your favourite fruit choices during the dark days of winter?

One thought on “Day 9 of 30: Getting Back Up

Leave a Reply

