Beach Reads

In less than a month, my husband and I will be celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary, which seems…completely crazy to me, because surely I’m not old enough to have been married for 15 years. (I’m also sure I’m not old enough to have a son turning 9 and my own dental clinic.) In any case, we’re celebrating our anniversary by going to Hawaii – specifically, Oahu – and I’m lining up some books to read on the plane over and on the beach, naturally. So far, I’ve come up with the following list, which has mostly been put together by googling “best beach reads” and “best beach reads hawaii.” I was not wanting anything too heavy, because I don’t want to think too much.

I’m still narrowing down my list, but here’s what I’ve got so far:

  • Shark Dialogues by Kiana Davenport
  • House of Many Gods: A Novel by Kiana Davenport
  • Haole Wood by Dee DeTarsioChocolate Easter Rabbit
  • Murder in Waikiki by Fred Zackel
  • The Last Aloha by Gaellen Quinn
  • Honolulu by Alan Brennert
  • Where’d You Go, Bernadette: A Novel by Maria Semple
  • Wife 22: A Novel by Melanie Gideon
  • The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker

FYI – The first 6 novels listed are based in Hawaii.

With the beach vacay looming, I’ve been feeling motivated to workout again. It’s been a week-and-a-half since I’ve really started getting back into it and I’ve been lifting weights, stationary biking, and doing yoga. I feel great that I’m getting my workouts in and I’ve already seen strength gains. I bought The Women’s Health Big Book of Exercises by Adam Campbell and have been following The Get Your Body Back Workout (Phase 1). It’s basic, doable, and covers the important stuff.

Healthy eating is still going pretty well, even with it being Easter this past weekend. I restricted my chocolate ingestion to Sunday only, so I’m feeling pretty impressed with myself.

One thought on “Beach Reads

Leave a Reply

