Resolution Review

It’s been about a month and a half since I posted. I think that’s the longest I’ve gone without blogging since I started! It was not a deliberate choice and I’ve missed the process of sorting through my thoughts that occurs when I write a post.However, January and February were taken over by the kids’ activities and work. I have been working out more regularly, but I’m still finding that it’s something I put off when my schedule fills up. I’ve also been going to bed ridiculously early, have managed to sneak in a few dates with my husband, and have started organizing a few things around the house.

As for the rest of my resolutions, here’s a summary:

  • Lose 25 lbs: lost a few, and then gained them back. My eating has improved a ton, but I’m still eating too much to lose weight and the treats keep on sneaking in there.
  • Get back in shape (can it get any more broad than this statement?!?): haven’t make significant strides here. The workouts I’ve been doing have been very basic, but I feel like consistency with exercise will be the key here, so I’m viewing this as a long-term resolution.
  • Clean out and organize my home office: office has been cleaned out (just this past weekend), but we’re still working on the organization part.
  • Put together a list of family traditions to try out this year: I’ve been reading The Book of New Family Traditions (Revised and Updated): How to Create Great Rituals for Holidays and Every Day but haven’t put together my list yet. Some great ideas, though!
  • Be nicer to my husband: I have definitely been nicer, but I know there’s room for improvement here.
  • Host friends and families for suppers every other week (but keep it casual and don’t turn it into a chore!): Just had the first supper of the year yesterday, so I was a little delayed in starting this resolution, but we do plan to continue on with this.
  • Start learning Portuguese: haven’t started yet, but having been eying up the Rosetta Stone website.
  • Put the drama of dental school behind me: I took all of my notes out of my office, put them in a closet, and labeled them for destruction in 1 year’s time. I also shredded some correspondence from my school and felt good about it, and any time a negative thought comes up, I tell myself to let it go, and I do.
  • By January 7th, break my resolutions down into attainable, measurable goals and build some reminders into my calendar to follow through with everything: This did NOT happen, but this is something I will be working on tonight – it’s time.

How have your resolutions/goals for the year been going?

4 thoughts on “Resolution Review

  1. Terzah says:

    I think you’re doing pretty well! You took on a lot with that list, and you’re chipping away at it. It’s still only February and you’re making headway on several.

    I didn’t make any resolutions, but I’m sticking with the running and I’m off sweets again, so progress on my non-resolutions is still progress, right?

    Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      Absolutely! I know not everyone has resolutions, but most people do have goals (just like your biggie. Even though BQ’ing by forty didn’t happen, it will soon.) Have started reading Wolf Hall, though I’m finding it a little hard to get into; might be because my familiarity with British history at this point is a bit sketchy. And I took your recommendation and read Unbroken over the holidays. Fascinating story.

      Like

Leave a Reply

