Reverb 12: Day 28

Kat at Tenaciously Yours has posted information about “a prompt-a-day series for the month of December that is meant to give us all the chance to reflect on 2012 and the opportunity to write down our hopes and dreams for the coming year.” Her post and the details are here.  I have fallen behind in Reverb 12 posts, but am going to attempt to catch up…

All grown up: What did you want to be when you grew up?  Are you that thing?  If not, are you working to become it, or have you chosen a completely different path?

I remember wanting to be like my mom and wanting to be a “secretary.” Which totally was not what she was, by the way.

Then I wanted to be a lawyer and accountant, and then I wanted to be an engineer. These 3 careers were what I thought I should be, because they were practical.

Once in university, I spent a year and half in engineering before encountering thermodynamics, realizing that this was not what I wanted to do, and transferring to the College of Commerce (now the Edwards School of Business) and studying accounting. I became a Certified Management Accountant and tried a few different jobs, not enjoying any of them. I knew I wanted to do something else, explored buying a business, and then, one day, when a couple of co-workers and I were discussing how much we didn’t enjoy our jobs, I said, “I should have been a dentist.”

Growing up, I didn’t like my dentist. At all. My brother and sister both have dental anxiety, because they didn’t have good experiences with our dentist (understatement). When I moved to a different city as an adult, I got a new dentist and loved her. I sort of enjoyed going to the dentist, actually, which is a big reason why dentistry popped into my head at all.

And so, after getting a rather poor performance review at work one year, I knew it was time to make a change, because I worked for a great company and still hated my job so much that I was putting in almost zero effort. I felt relief in knowing that it was time to do something else. I was pregnant at the time and when I went in to see my dentist about a tooth that was bothering me, I told her I was thinking of becoming a dentist and she gave me a list of reasons why I should do it. I talked to my husband about it and he gave me the green light (though he was rather hesitant), but we laid out a timeline and decided to try to have another child after the one that was in the works.

My son, my firstborn, is now almost 9 years old and I own my own dental practice. It was a different path, but the right one for me…for now at least.

 

One thought on “Reverb 12: Day 28

Leave a Reply

