Reverb 12: Day 26

Kat at Tenaciously Yours has posted information about “a prompt-a-day series for the month of December that is meant to give us all the chance to reflect on 2012 and the opportunity to write down our hopes and dreams for the coming year.” Her post and the details are here.  I have fallen behind in Reverb 12 posts, but am going to attempt to catch up…

Typical dayDescribe a typical day in your life.  What do you think would surprise most people about your ordinary day?  How do you cherish and appreciate the everyday?

Wake up around 7:15am. Drag out the wake-up process and pretend I don’t have to get out of bed. Get out of bed around 7:30am. Do my hair, wash my face, put on moisturizer and makeup, get dressed. Yell at daughter throughout this process to get dressed. Help her pick out clothes and get dressed because It’s getting urgent that she get ready. Head downstairs. Make oatmeal in a to-go container. If I think of it, grab a few things for lunches and snacks. Sometimes get the kids their breakfast and out of the house to drop them off at school, more often I help them get out of the house but my husband takes them to school. Drive to work. Morning meeting with the staff to go over the day’s and week’s schedules.  Eat my oatmeal. See patients, make notes, do administrative stuff, deal with questions for the staff. Usually have not packed lunch so, unless appointments have gone into lunch, go out and grab something to eat (usually a salad from Wendy’s or a sub from Subway). Get ready for the afternoon and see patients. Hopefully be done with patients around 5pm. Take a bit of a breather and check in with front staff. Do notes and other paperwork for about an hour. Head home or to the rink for hockey practice. Eat or watch kid’s hockey. Get home around 6:30 or 8. Help the kids get ready for bed and tuck them in around 8:30pm. Often I fall asleep putting my daughter to bed because she (and I) loves to cuddle. If I manage not to fall asleep, pick up around the house and do half an hour of yoga. Fall asleep in shavasana. Wake up, shower, get ready for bed, maybe deal with e-mails, sometimes watch a bit of TV, go to bed by 10:30pm.

I’m not sure any of this would surprise anyone who has kids. I’m sure my day is played out in houses across my neighbourhood, except most other people I know manage on a lot less sleep, get up a lot earlier and go to bed a lot later, meaning they actually watch full TV shows, get workouts in, and do more stuff around the house.

How do I cherish and appreciate the everyday? I’m sure it’s not trendy, but I don’t really go out of my way to do so. My life is lacking routine and feels really chaotic these days. Until I get into a rhythm with work and kids’ activities, I’ll be floundering.

2 thoughts on “Reverb 12: Day 26

  1. bubblymel says:

    Up at 6:15ish back to bed normally about 11:30pm these days but I do like to go to bed at 10:30, sometimes it just doesn’t happen!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

