Reverb 12: Day 25

Kat at Tenaciously Yours has posted information about “a prompt-a-day series for the month of December that is meant to give us all the chance to reflect on 2012 and the opportunity to write down our hopes and dreams for the coming year.” Her post and the details are here.  I have fallen behind in Reverb 12 posts, but am going to attempt to catch up…

TraditionsDo you follow old traditions or do you work to create new traditions?  What role has tradition played in your life over the past year?  Are there traditions you hope to create or embrace in 2013?

I am in the process of developing new traditions for my immediate family. If you’ve been reading along, you may have noticed that I’ve been fairly self-centred and school-focused the past several years, so traditions have been neglected (and my husband isn’t really into them, so it’s totally my area).

Traditions in place: Christmas tree up, viewing the local light display at Christmas-time, Arizona for Christmas, Easter baskets, birthday parties, trick-or-treating.

In 2013, I really want to start making some new traditions for my family and have started reading The Book of New Family Traditions (Revised and Updated): How to Create Great Rituals for Holidays and Every Day. So far, I’ve been focused on Christmas, and this year I did a Christmas countdown for the kids, bought us all matching pj’s for Christmas Eve (this one was already in place, actually), read The Night Before Christmas, did some Christmas movie nights, and made gingerbread houses (already in place, too).

Do I have a clear vision of what I want in place? Nope, but I’m working on it. The goal is to have read The Book of New Family Traditions by the end of January and create a framework of activities/rituals to try out for the year. Those activities that we try out may not stick around, but you gotta start somewhere!

What are your favourite family traditions, Christmas, New Year’s, or otherwise?

3 thoughts on “Reverb 12: Day 25

  1. meg cox says:

    As the author of The Book of New Family Traditions, I was delighted to see that my book is inspiring you to boost this aspect of your family life. Let me know if I can help. You might want to check out my website and blog, http://www.megcox.com. I also have a Facebook page where I keep adding ideas and inspiration for parents like you. I hope you enjoy the book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

