Reverb 12: Day 17

Kat at Tenaciously Yours has posted information about “a prompt-a-day series for the month of December that is meant to give us all the chance to reflect on 2012 and the opportunity to write down our hopes and dreams for the coming year.” Her post and the details are here.  I have fallen behind in Reverb 12 posts, but am going to attempt to catch up…

Surprise: The most surprising thing that happened this year was…

that my husband reconsidered and agreed to go to the Olympics to watch his cousin Brianne compete.  Once we got that ball rolling, the next surprise was that his uncle and aunt (Brianne’s grandparents) had to back out of going due to a health issue and we snagged their amazing tickets, putting us basically trackside for a few events, including the men’s 100m prelims.

As an Olympic junkie – I’m a bit of a sucker for idealism – the experience was exciting and emotional and unforgettable. I teared up and started hyperventilating as we walked into our first Olympic venue to watch beach volleyball. When we walked into Olympic Stadium for the first time, I was nearly vibrating and totally teared up again. When they counted down to the start of the track and field events our first day at that venue, I had trouble choking back the sobs because I was so overwhelmed to be AT.THE.OLYMPICS.

When I think back to that week we spent in early August, I feel as though it was a dream and can’t believe we were ACTUALLY THERE. Counting down to Rio 2016!

My husband and me at Olympic Stadium.  We were seated in the second row the morning of August 4th, around the 55m mark.  Amazing seats.

My husband and me at Olympic Stadium. We were seated in the second row the morning of August 4th, around the 55m mark. Amazing seats.

One thought on “Reverb 12: Day 17

Leave a Reply

