Reverb 12: Day 16

Kat at Tenaciously Yours has posted information about “a prompt-a-day series for the month of December that is meant to give us all the chance to reflect on 2012 and the opportunity to write down our hopes and dreams for the coming year.” Her post and the details are here.  I have fallen behind in Reverb 12 posts, but am going to attempt to catch up…

Choice:  Being an adult means making your own choices.  What choices were the hardest to make this year?

By far the hardest choice in 2012 was deciding to buy my own dental clinic.

I have always wanted to own my own business. I come from a family of successful entrepreneurs and I really don’t enjoy working for other people: I like to be in charge (most of the time). When January 1, 2012 rolled around, I was looking at lining up a job as I would be graduating in June. My husband and I toyed with the idea of moving to Australia, where I could work with a Canadian dental licenses I met with a dentist to discuss working for him, but found that the position he was offering was less-than-perfect – part-time and driving out of town at least once a week – and was about to start getting serious about making the move to Australia when I was contacted by a dental rep I know who had heard of a clinic for sale and thought I would be a great fit for the clinic.

Honestly, I was terrified at the idea of owning my own clinic as a rookie dentist, but I knew I wanted to own a clinic sooner rather than later and I would be able to work full-time without moving, which would definitely make my husband happy. We (my husband and I) met with the owner, got an appraisal, had my accountant do an assessment, and decided to proceed, knowing, after we met the owner, that something would go down there. In my experience, when someone talks at length about how “trustworthy” and “Christian” they are, the less likely they are to be what they claim to be. And certainly, that is what played out later in the year once I took over the clinic.

Do I regret my decision? Not at all. I do wonder, though, if it would have been easier had I made a different choice.

One thought on “Reverb 12: Day 16

Leave a Reply

