Reverb 12: Day 15

Kat at Tenaciously Yours has posted information about “a prompt-a-day series for the month of December that is meant to give us all the chance to reflect on 2012 and the opportunity to write down our hopes and dreams for the coming year.” Her post and the details are here.  I have fallen behind in Reverb 12 posts, but am going to attempt to catch up…

Friendship:  What was it like for you to be a friend to others this year?  Did you rekindle an old friendship?  Strengthen a current friendship?  Make friends with someone you didn’t think was “your type?”

Let’s start at the first question: “What was it like for you to be a friend to others this year?” Honestly, I’ve been a fairly terrible friend. For the past 6 years or so, I have been focused on school and family. I spent a lot of time with my classmates on a day-to-day basis and a handful of those people will be my friends for years to come, but I rarely went out with them, as they’re 10-15 years younger than I am, have no kids, and have a different idea of what they do with their evenings (hint: large quantities of liquor tend to be involved at their end). In short, I’ve been very self-involved.

At 37, I find myself with just a few close friends who are either significantly younger than I am and in a totally different place in their lives, which makes socializing challenging, or who live in another city. I’m not counting my husband in this grouping, though certainly I have neglected this friendship/relationship as well and will have to take steps to make things better between the two of us.

My husband finds himself in a similar position, since he had to pick up the slack while I focused on school and traveled a lot for work, so we have started hosting Sunday dinners every other Sunday in an effort to, well…make friends, I guess. We’re hoping that we can transition some acquaintances to friends.

Any advice for a 37-year-old introvert on how to make friends when everyone else seems to already have their own core groups of buddies?

2 thoughts on “Reverb 12: Day 15

  1. bubblymel says:

    Maybe look into some sort of fitness group training with like minded people or whatever your hobbies are join a group that does that! You’ll be making friends in no time!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

