Reverb 12: Day 19

Kat at Tenaciously Yours has posted information about “a prompt-a-day series for the month of December that is meant to give us all the chance to reflect on 2012 and the opportunity to write down our hopes and dreams for the coming year.” Her post and the details are here.  I have fallen behind in Reverb 12 posts, but am going to attempt to catch up…

Crap: What was just absolute rubbish for you this year?  What would you do to change that? Describe something, or some moment, that was just hopelessly awful, and tell us how it could (or could not) be made better.

At one point in January, I received a letter saying that, due to a shortage of credits, I was at risk for not finishing the year.

Crazy, right? I was calling every patient on the list I had and was still struggling to get people into my chair so that I could get everything done. I had to meet with the assistant dean to discuss the whole issue, and my overall impression was that they wouldn’t do anything to help.

So I plugged away, begged classmates to pass patients my way, cajoled and threatened patients to get them into my chair (not in a “break your kneecaps” kind of way or anything, and not in any unethical way, but it was not fun), and was in full-on panic mode until I officially had my last patient signed off in May.

Unfortunately, there really wasn’t much I could have done to change it, or believe me, I would have. We have a certain set of patients assigned to us and I called every.single.one. More than once. I had classmates whose patients were calling in asking to come in to see them, and I was was stuck with a dud list.

It’s done now and I will not dwell on it anymore. It’s part of my New Year’s resolutions.

One thought on “Reverb 12: Day 19

Leave a Reply

