Reverb 12: Day 14

Kat at Tenaciously Yours has posted information about “a prompt-a-day series for the month of December that is meant to give us all the chance to reflect on 2012 and the opportunity to write down our hopes and dreams for the coming year.” Her post and the details are here.

Family: Did you role in the family shift or change over the past year? How? Why?

It’s just after 5am. I’ve been up since 2. My husband’s shoulder has been bothering him, and I think his rolling around in bed woke me up. As I lay in the dark, work issues kept me from falling back asleep, as did what happened in Connecticut yesterday.

My daughter is 6 years old, in Grade 1. My son is 8 years old, in Grade 3. They heard about the shootings on the radio. My daughter asked if it could happen at her school, was afraid to go to bed last night.

I told her it was very unlikely that anything like that would ever happen at her school. I just did a little Google search, and according to this article, “since 1996, the United States has disproportionately suffered from mass gun violence on innocent populations. Since the Columbine High School shooting in 1999, there have been 31 school shootings in the United States and only 14 in the rest of the world combined.” So, being Canadian, it is very unlikely, but, unfortunately, I suppose, not totally impossible.

Sitting here in the dark, listening to my children as they breathe heavily in their sleep – they’re sharing a bed tonight, because my daughter didn’t want to go to bed alone – I can not imagine what it must be like for the families involved.

So I will kiss my children as they sleep, and stroke their hair, and tell them that I love them, for that is my role as their mom, always.

3 thoughts on “Reverb 12: Day 14

  1. Jolene (www.everydayfoodie.ca) says:

    Sorry I didn’t read the post before posting about you winning the contest. Couldn’t find your email address, so just left a quick comment. Now I am catching up on blog posts. I cannot get over what happened. What a tragedy 😦 I can’t even begin to imagine how a parent must feel to hear news like this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

