Reverb 12: Day 9 (again, a day late, but better late than never)

Kat at Tenaciously Yours has posted information about “a prompt-a-day series for the month of December that is meant to give us all the chance to reflect on 2012 and the opportunity to write down our hopes and dreams for the coming year.” Her post and the details are here.

The Plank: It has been said that you must learn to take care of yourself before you can be effective at taking care of others.  How did you take care of yourself in 2012?  How will you take care of yourself in 2013?

I started out 2012 with this post, in which I resolved “to cut myself some slack and treat myself with kindness in 2012,” and I really did try my best to do that.

However, I think I may have erred on the side of cutting myself some slack and could definitely be taking better care of myself and treating my body with more kindness. I ignored the fact that “kindness” does not always equal “rest.”

My body is starting to rebel. As of the moment, I am having a little trouble turning my head to the left. This has been going on for a few weeks now, despite yoga, stretching and regular massage therapy.  My stomach has been a little topsy-turvy since I had a virus early last week and seems to be irritable about having to digest food, particularly if we’re talking about meal-sized quantities.  My left IT band is still irritated and I’m still not running. I’m not complaining; just stating that this is the inevitable result of inactivity and stress.

How will I take care of myself in 2013? Hmmm, that’s a great questions that I still don’t have an answer for. Regular massage therapy is definitely on the agenda, along with regular yoga practice (even if it is a DVD and not a live class with an instructor).

Beyond massage therapy, workouts are key. I feel like I’ve been struggling forever to get a regular workout routine established. I’ll get in a good groove and then, wham!, I hit a super busy patch in dental school, buy a dental clinic, or put my kids in five separate activities, and my workout schedule goes to sh*t. However, I know that for my health – physical, mental – I need to lift weights and get some cardio in. I also feel SO much better when I make 8 glasses of water, 5 servings of veggies, and 3 servings of fruit part of my day, but that hasn’t been happening very much lately, either.

In 2013, I would love to take care of myself by putting my health first. I just need to figure out what that looks like and how I can balance that against the needs of my business (not making money does not equal good health, either – it equals stress), the needs of my kids (five activities is probably overkill, but I do want them to be active and they’re already signed up), the needs of my husband (the guy deserves some time to play hockey and workout, too), and all of the other stuff that I want to get done on a regular basis (haircuts, visiting with friends, changing the sheets and towels more frequently, finally hanging pictures on the walls in our house, etc., etc.). Clearly, prioritization and organization will be major factors in my success.

What do you do to take care of yourself?

One thought on “Reverb 12: Day 9 (again, a day late, but better late than never)

Leave a Reply

