Reverb 12: Day 8

Kat at Tenaciously Yours has posted information about “a prompt-a-day series for the month of December that is meant to give us all the chance to reflect on 2012 and the opportunity to write down our hopes and dreams for the coming year.” Her post and the details are here.

Art: What was the most moving piece of art that you saw/experienced this year?  This could mean a painting or a sculpture, or a performance you took in, or even a book that you read – tell us about the kind of art you encountered, and the way that it moved you.

I am not a particularly sophisticated person. I like pop music, action movies, and teen fiction. I enjoy museums when they deal with history, but don’t know enough about “art” to go out of my way to appreciate it.

I really do enjoy reading, but didn’t do a lot of it this past year, what with school and all, and when I did read, I leaned toward non-fiction or novels that aren’t really considered “literature” (e.g., books from the Stephanie Plum and Game of Thrones series), but were enjoyable nonetheless.

Perhaps my definition of “art” is too narrow, though. In my typical nerdy fashion, I decided to Google “What is art?” as I struggled to come up with a good answer for this post. I liked the explanations I found here.  To quote from the post: “The expression of the thoughts of the artist are successful when it engages both the maker and the viewer and creates dialogs of wonder. It is subjective and stimulating and seeks to enlighten and entertain.”

Unfortunately, even after my “scientific” research, I couldn’t come up with a good answer. While the books I read certainly fell under “entertaining,” I’m not sure that any were particularly “enlightening.” The closest I got was with Gone Girl, which was certainly a popular book in 2012 and made me examine the relationship I have with my husband, as well as my own personality. It was a quick and easy read and I flew through it, because the story was engrossing and I wanted to see how it ended.

As the year closes out, I’ve put together a list of books to read here. I feel like a lot of these will be what I would consider “art,” just as I would consider Room by Emma Donoghue and Your Voice in My Head by Emma Forrest – books I read in 2011 – “art.”

Are you an art lover? What do you consider to be “art?”

Note: I wrote this post on the 8th and somehow forgot to hit the “Publish” button. Oops!

One thought on “Reverb 12: Day 8

Leave a Reply

