Reverb 12: Day 10

Kat at Tenaciously Yours has posted information about “a prompt-a-day series for the month of December that is meant to give us all the chance to reflect on 2012 and the opportunity to write down our hopes and dreams for the coming year.” Her post and the details are here.

Scars: They leave marks, and sometimes you can only take what you can carry.  What will you, by choice or by chance, carry into 2013?

Scarring implies imperfect healing, and I have plenty of that going on.

My IT band. Apparently my physio works his way through scar tissue when he does acupuncture. Might help explain the lingering nature of my injury and why I’m still not running.

Dental school. The scars (emotional, these ones, rather than physical) are still bright pink and fresh. I’m healing, but the injury is too recent for me to weigh the experience and find that the good outweighs the bad. Scales definitely tipping toward “bad.”

The purchase of my dental clinic. Overall, it’s been worthwhile, but the way that the prior owner decided to leave left me with a few new wounds – shallow, relatively easy to recover from, but leaving me in a weakened state. I suspect any residual scars will be barely noticeable.

Unfortunately, I hang onto things tightly – my scars take a long time to fade – so I will be taking everything with me into 2013, because I’m still working on healing the physical wounds and on letting the emotional baggage go.

 

One thought on “Reverb 12: Day 10

Leave a Reply

