Reverb 12: Day 7 (a day late)

Kat at Tenaciously Yours has posted information about “a prompt-a-day series for the month of December that is meant to give us all the chance to reflect on 2012 and the opportunity to write down our hopes and dreams for the coming year.” Her post and the details are here.

Feast: Hopefully you’ve had more than one spectacular meal in 2012, but what is the first that comes to mind?  Were you surrounded by family at the dining room table?  Sitting on a bench by the lake?  Bring us there.

I was having a hard time coming up with a memorable meal from the past year, which is not to say that I didn’t enjoy some good food – I’m just not really a foodie.

Recently, we’ve started having friends over for Sunday dinner every other week. To me, it feels old-fashioned-in-a-good-way and is helping my husband and me start to develop relationships that we’ve been too busy to grow while I was in school. As such, the first meal that popped into my mind was one that I made about a month ago. I used this Jaime Oliver recipe for roast chicken, this recipe for gravy, and then had some pretty traditional sides: mashed potatoes, carrots, and cranberry spinach salad with feta. For dessert, I roasted a pumpkin and made this cake. The meal was fantastic, and that’s saying quite a bit, because I tend to be fairly critical of the food that I cook.

When I thought a little more about, though, I thought back to what was not exactly a meal, but an eating experience, the Kitchen Sink Sundae at the Beaches and Cream at Disney World. (Google it if you want to know more).

Kitchen Sink Sundae

The amount of food that we consumed was RIDICULOUS, but it was so much fun trying to eat it all, and was definitely memorable. We will do it again when we go back to Disney. Family tradition in the making?

Do you have a favourite Disney experience or a go-to meal you make when guests come over?

2 thoughts on “Reverb 12: Day 7 (a day late)

Leave a Reply

