Closing Out 2012: Reading Inspiration

This is the 5th year that I will be spending time in Arizona for the holidays. I am so looking forward to it and fully intending NOT to think about work at all. I plan to enjoy that it’s much warmer than here and get out for some walks, take the kids on some excursions (zoo, not sure where else), and, of course, read.

I’ve got unread/partly read books on my Kindle right now, including Anna Karenina; Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln; 360 Degrees Longitude: One Family’s Journey Around the World; Travellin’ Mama: A Parent’s Guide to Ditching the Routine, Seeing the World and Taking the Kids Along for the Ride; and The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest.

I imagine I will get through some of these books over the holidays, but I’m looking for a few more books, including some reads that are a little easier to get into than a few of the books I’ve listed above.

I’ve perused a few “Best of 2012” lists (here, here, and here) and gone back to one of my favourite sources for book recommendations, Laineygossip.com here, and come up with the following list of books to read (well, maybe not all of them):

  • The Devil in Silver by Victor Lavalle
  • Wolf Hall and Bringing Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel
  • Whiplash River by Lou Berley
  • Mother and Child: A Novel by Carole Maso
  • The Lonely Polygamist by Brady Udall
  • On Beauty by Zadie Smith
  • We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

This list is not final and I’m definitely open to recommendations if you’ve got ’em!

What was your favourite read this past year? I really enjoyed The Game of ThronesYour Voice in My Head, and Gone Girl.

13 thoughts on “Closing Out 2012: Reading Inspiration

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      Gone Girl is an easy read, so if you can find a bit of time, it shouldn’t take too long. I haven’t seen the movie We Need to Talk About Kevin yet, but I think I want to read the book first.

      Like

  1. saychelle says:

    The detective series by J. A. Konroth about Jacquline “Jack” Daniels, a homicide dectective tracking down serial killers. The books are named after drinks starting with “Two Shots of Tequila” and ending with “Stirred”.

    Like

  2. Terzah says:

    I just finished Unbroken and it was really good. Makes me want to read her first book, Seabiscuit. I’m now reading Behind the Beautiful Forevers–seems it will be a tough one in terms of subject matter, but it’s well-written too. I really want to read Bring Up the Bodies–Wolf Hall was excellent.

    Like

Leave a Reply

