Reverb 12: Day 2

I decided to go ahead and write up another blog post today, which, well…2 blog posts in 1 day pretty much never happen around here. I think I’m probably averaging 2 posts a month, if I’m lucky.

Let’s get right to it.  Today’s prompt: Help: Asking for help can be the hardest thing we ever do. When and how did you ask for help? Alternatively, did someone ask you for help and how did it play out?

I ask for help all. the. time. While I was still in school, my poor husband was burdened with all the extra stuff that I couldn’t get to. And now, I delegate, delegate, delegate what I can at work, from calling suppliers (my receptionist and dental assistant) to cleaning up rooms after patients (my dental assistant and dental aide) to interviewing employees (my dental consultant has been doing the bulk of the interviews). I ask my parents for help watching the kids if we want to go away somewhere, which, granted, is pretty infrequent. We have a cleaner who comes into our house Fridays and cleans, and makes our lives happier.

Having said all of that, I’m kinda not that good at asking for help for certain things, because I tend toward being a control freak. I feel like I have to know someone very well before I am comfortable asking them for a favour, because, type-A that I am, I hate having to admit that I need help sometimes.

My husband, on the other hand, has absolutely no problem asking people for help, whether it’s cutting up a deer (not kidding – we were recently gifted with a deer and had no idea what to do with it, so he called our neighbour who ran over with knives and beer) or taking one of our kids to hockey practice. He definitely helps other people out, too, though, so I’m sure it balances out in the end.

I guess that may be my other issue: I don’t like to owe people things. (I already admitted I’m a control freak, right?) So, there’s that.

On a completely different topic, I’m hoping to see a couple of movies over the Christmas break. What movies have you seen lately that you’d recommend as must-see?

2 thoughts on “Reverb 12: Day 2

Leave a Reply

