Project MIMAB: A Christmas Countdown and Reverb 12

Christmas preparations are moving along. Meals are planned up until Christmas day, though our schedule is shifting a little and I will have to make a few adjustments, not to mention the fact that we’ve both been running so much with kids’ activities and work that the necessary grocery shopping isn’t really getting done, so take out and eating out have happened more often than I’d like to admit.

I’ve received our holiday cards from Snapfish, but they are still sitting in the box, unaddressed. Maybe later this week. I have just a few gifts left to get and may even be wrapping them up soon. When I woke up this morning, I had grand plans to accomplish a long list of tasks today. And then my cold symptoms really kicked in. Sometimes the best thing to do is to find a cozy blanket, snuggle into the corner of the couch, watch movies, and nap on-demand.

Christmas Countdown 2012Tonight will be the 2nd night of our Christmas Countdown. This is a new tradition I’m starting this year as a part of Project MIMAB. Basically, the countdown works like this: Each day, my kids take a card down from the calendar (number 24 with 24 days until Christmas, number 23 with 23 days until Christmas – you get it) and open it up, and we do the activity inside. I relied primarily on ideas I saw from Pinterest, but also included a few things that we already like to do during the holiday season. Our list is as follows:

  • decorate Christmas cupcakes
  • decorate the Christmas tree
  • visit the Enchanted Forest
  • read How the Grinch Stole Christmas
  • Elf 2 families
  • drink hot chocolate
  • learn the words to The Twelve Days of Christmas
  • have a Christmas picture taken
  • watch a Christmas movie (this one is in our countdown 3 times – we usually do family movie night once a week already)
  • Go skating
  • Try eggnog and fruitcake
  • Have a Christmas treat
  • Bake Christmas cookies
  • Make gingerbread houses
  • Make a Christmas craft
  • Go for a walk or drive and look at the Christmas lights (I’m not walking through the neighbourhood if it’s -25)
  • Write cards and wrap presents for the teachers
  • Sit by the tree and listen to Christmas music before bed
  • Celebrate the solstice
  • Make Christmas Rice Krispy treats
  • Open 1 gift and read The Night Before Christmas
  • Make a Christmas breakfast

I think it’s going to be a lot of fun, especially for the kids.

Kat at Tenaciously Yours has posted information about “a prompt-a-day series for the month of December that is meant to give us all the chance to reflect on 2012 and the opportunity to write down our hopes and dreams for the coming year.” Her post and the details are here. I would love to participate everyday, but I don’t think I can commit to that at the moment. I definitely plan to post along as much as I can because in these dark, cold days of December, a little self-reflection is a good thing, never mind that I’m already a day behind…

The first prompt:  Where it began: Review and reflect – how did 2012 begin for you? Tell us how the year kicked off; start your renewal by beginning again.

My January started off with this post. At the time, I was still in dental school, starting to study for my licensing exams, struggling to find enough patients to accumulate the credits I needed to graduate, contemplating a move to Australia, and unsure of what would follow dental school. Overall, I was experiencing a lot of stress, not getting enough sleep, and not enjoying my life very much. My IT band injury was ongoing (and, sadly, still is), but I had a hard time making time in my schedule for the necessary physical therapy. I was spending very little time with my husband and kids, and I had gained about 10 lbs since the previous September.  Instead of resolutions, I vowed to cut myself some slack and treat myself with kindness. Yeah, not sure I succeeded with the kindness part, but I have definitely cut myself some slack over the past year – sometimes, a little too much slack where workouts are concerned.

In any case, today my life looks very different than it did at the opening of the new year. And that’s a good thing.

4 thoughts on “Project MIMAB: A Christmas Countdown and Reverb 12

  1. bubblymel says:

    I love that countdown calendar!! I wish I could do stuff like that with P! Sadly working full-time leaves me with very little time 😦 Plus hubby is a real stick in the mud when it comes to Christmas movies!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

