Game Plan Weekend: Make it Merry and Bright

If you’ve been reading for a while, you know that I was in dental school for 4 years (ending this past May) and I did 2 years of pre-dentistry before that.  When I went back to school for pre-dent, my daughter, who’s now 6 (going on 16…oh, the attitude!) was 7 months old and my son was 2 1/2 years old. Needless to say, my school schedule didn’t really allow me to focus on celebrating the holidays. Sure we got around to putting up a tree most of the time (there was at least one year we didn’t), and I always fit Christmas shopping in, but I didn’t really get to establish holiday traditions for my kids. And I love my husband and think he’s pretty awesome, but he is not really a superstar in the holiday celebrations department (probably because his family is really not big into celebrating, well, anything), so that’s one area where he didn’t pick up the slack.

This year, though, is DIFFERENT. Sure my work is really crazy since I’m trying to sort everything out with buying a dental practice, but I pretty much don’t bring home work stuff and, except for running the kids to their (admittedly too many) activities, I do have time in the evenings to get stuff done. This year, I want to CELEBRATE the holidays and give my kids the kind of holiday season that I remember (probably unrealistically, but whatever) from when I was a kid. What does this look like? Think deck the halls, merry and bright, comfort and joy. Think lots of time with family; sitting by the tree in the dark and enjoying the glow; music, music, music; baking and holiday goodies; skating outside in the dark; drinking hot chocolate with cold, red cheeks; It’s a Wonderful Life, Love Actually, and Die Hard (I have an eclectic taste in movies).

What I want to do is spend November getting ready for the holidays so that we can really celebrate the holidays with our friends and family in December and stretch out the merriment, rather than trying to jam everything all in in a few days.

What I’ve been finding is that I’m NOT getting much done at night because (a) I’m really tired and have often fallen asleep at 8:30pm (not kidding) and (b) when I’m not completely lacking in energy, I don’t have a game plan and end up puttering around, trying to figure out what to do.

What I’m saying, essentially, is that’s it’s time to put together my game plan for the next 2 months to that I can really enjoy the Christmas season this year and make it memorable for my kids. I also absolutely need to be fitting in workouts so that I have more energy and my body feels better, and I haven’t been doing that, either.

The Game Plan

1. Follow the Christmas Countdown at Organized Christmas. I will take the liberty of ignoring those tasks that I don’t think work for me.

2. Decide what holiday traditions I want to try to establish. I’d make this a family decision, but seriously, my husband is holiday challenged, so I’m just going to take the reins on this one. For ideas, I’m checking out Pinterest and reading the pertinent sections in The Book of New Family Traditions by Meg Cox.

3. Set out a workout schedule for the next 2 months, along with rewards for meeting my targets. My goals must be SMART (specific, measurable, attainable, relevant, time-bound).

4. Set aside an hour and meal plan for the whole next 2 months. Have a backup plan for the nights where we’ve had an unexpected change in schedule and need to get something on the table fast.

I think that’s it for now. I’ll let you know how the plan’s going as the month progresses. I totally realize that I’m overreaching, but I like to think big. 🙂

If you had to put together your ultimate holiday playlist, what 3 songs would be on it? My 3: All I Want for Christmas is You by Mariah Carey, Baby It’s Cold Outside (I like the Colin James version, but I’m not super picky about who’s singing it), and White Christmas by Bing Crosby.

3 thoughts on “Game Plan Weekend: Make it Merry and Bright

  1. Terzah says:

    Oh man, I love the idea of a “get organized” Xmas countdown. It’s my favorite holiday (I used to decorate my own room when I was a kid) and I LOVE it now that I have kids too. We already have our Nutcracker tickets, but I haven’t done anything else. I plan to pore over that link you provided.

    My top three carols: God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen (I love the old-school feel of it); White Christmas; Sting’s version of A-Soalin’

    Like

  2. Ameena says:

    Wow…this level of planning is quite astounding. Your kids are lucky to have you! And really, you are just an all around superstar considering how much you do in a day.

    I have a 7-year-old going on 16…we should trade stories…

    Like

Leave a Reply

