A Week Out

I am a week away from the biggest exam of my life and I’m having trouble staying focused.  I am totally burned-out and stressed out and am not really retaining anything anymore.  Of course it’s not really like I’m learning new material at this point, since most of the important stuff we obviously learned in school.  But there are a few subjects where, frankly, we have not been well-prepared and I am really learning a lot of it on my own, and there are also a few things that, geez, I don’t think about every day but still need to know off the top of my head for the exam so I’ll be cramming those bits into my brain this upcoming week.  In real life, I’ll be looking it up, and I’m not sure why they don’t consider that in exams, but they don’t.

I’m also trying (and failing) to keep perspective, because really, even though I’m stressed to the max right now, my life could be so much worse than it is.  In fact, the rest of my life (outside of school) is pretty darn good.

In any case, I’m basically just whining right now because, well, sometimes you just need to.  I’m also trying to keep my mind off the stressful stuff so that I can be a little more productive and actually process the information I’m reviewing.  So far, it’s not going well.  I should probably go back to doing yoga daily over the next week.

Now that I’ve whined to you, feel free to share your “I survived” stories.  I’m in need of a little perspective…

UPDATE: Just in case you need a little more positivity in your life (like I do), here are links to a few posts that are less whiney, more inspirey:

Live Like the Honey Badger: Principle 5 from Racing with Babes

Inside the mind from IronMomma

Prepare Your Mind First from SUAR

On Motivating: Countdown Post-Its from Tenaciously Yours

Stronger. from Run Faster Mommy

I was wrong. Last year sucked. And I’m done. from Tricia Minnick

5 thoughts on “A Week Out

  1. Jolene (www.everydayfoodie.ca) says:

    Just think, you are ONLY a week away, and then it will be over!!!!! I am sure you will rock it, and that all your hard work will have paid off. Best of luck to you! Take a break and do something fun, get a good sleep, eat a good meal, and then go back to the studying. Breaks work wonders!

    Like

  2. Kat says:

    Thank you for the link, lady!

    Pep-talk: You are a week out. And this is one of (if not THE) the hardest things you’ve ever done. It’s the culmination of so much work, and attention and effort that quite honestly, it makes my mind hurt to try and understand what you’re about to undertake.

    Your call: Be gentle to yourself, love your family and get this test done!

    I am so very proud of you. Reading about your journey through school, family and life for the past few years has been inspiring, encouraging and a great dose of perspective for me. I am so looking forward to you finishing strong and seeing where this journey and this profession take you next.

    xo

    Like

  3. Deana says:

    Let’s see…first you need to make sure you do yoga, get out for a light run, fast walk
    whatever to clear your head. It’ll actually help you on your studying. I’ve had quite a crazy time myself. I’ve been working about 20 hrs a week on a project at work. Hubby was in India so I was single parenting, all while trying to get my training in for the marathon. I’m still here so must be doing something right. Hang in there!!! You will rock that exam!

    Like

  4. Ameena says:

    Of course you need to whine! We all do. But you especially have a lot going on. But yes…it helps to remember that things could be so much worse. I try to do the same thing!

    Happy Monday my friend. I hope that your week goes well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

