Whoa Nelly: Quick Goals for Busy Times

It’s been almost 3 weeks since I posted.  3 weeks!

Needless to say, school has been overwhelming lately.  This past week was not a particularly good one for me.  I don’t want to talk (write) about it, because I just need to let it go, but suffice to say, it was quite unpleasant over all.

Now that the week is over, I’m trying to regroup and stop freaking out about life.  My husband and kids are out of the house today so it’s a good opportunity to settle down and wrap my mind around everything.  I went and got a haircut and picked up a few things at the mall while I was at it.  I powered through a quick lunch involving canned salmon, canned peaches, and a couple of slices of bread – look, ma, no veggies!!! – and now I’m trying to find a patient for Monday morning.  So far, it’s not going well.  I think I will make one last call and then move on to studying.

Speaking of regrouping, workouts haven’t really been happening.  My husband went away for meetings for a week the 2nd week of January, and my schedule went all to hell.  It was not pretty.  He was back last week, but the workouts still didn’t happen.  I did meet with my physio, though, and am making progress on the IT band front, so I’ve got that going for me.

Really, I am totally overwhelmed and the last thing I want to do is add any stress to my life by making unrealistic healthy eating and workout promises.

But…I feel better when I eat (mostly) healthfully and am getting some exercise in.  So, really, from a stress management perspective, I think I’d better throw some health and fitness goals for the next 2 weeks out there, so I have something to shoot for and start having more energy/less stress.

1. Meal plan for the next 2 weeks.

2. Fit in 30 minutes of exercise per day (yoga and walking are definitely easy, solid options).

3. Make a workout schedule so that I know what I’m doing and can just shut up and do it.

4. Treat myself with kindness if I don’t get all of my workouts in.  That being said, catching up on celebrity gossip and watching Buffy on Netflix are probably not as beneficial in terms of relaxation and stress management as 30 minutes of yoga.

5. Any snacking after supper will be fruits or veggies.  Chocolate is neither of these.

That’s all I’ve got.  Wish me luck in booking a patient and studying!

What’s your “shut up and get it done” workout?

6 thoughts on “Whoa Nelly: Quick Goals for Busy Times

  1. Terzah says:

    My “shut-up-and-get-it-done” workout is a good walk. I try to go semi-briskly, but I don’t stress about pace. It’s a balance between going fast enough to breathe hard but not needing a shower when I get back because I know I won’t have time for that!

    I hope you get lots of purgative workouts in now that it’s slowed down enough for you to post and think about working out!

    Like

  2. bubblymel says:

    Sorry to hear you have been stressed! Your plasm sounds excellent! Chocolate and alcohol had been my down fall lately! Plus lack of exercise! Walking us my shut up and get it done workout. in fact I am about to get dressed put P in the stroller and head or into the heat for a morning wall before it get’s too hot!

    Like

  3. Kat says:

    My Get It Done routine is a 20 minute vinyasa session. It’s enough to get me a little sweaty and to definitely accomplish some toning.

    DEFINITELY be kind to yourself – I’ll be sending good vibes your way that everything calms down soon. Until then, peace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

