Done and Done: Fun After Exams

I wrote my last December exam yesterday.  I was/am so relieved to be done.  This past week was tough, with definitely not enough sleep happening.  My personal hygiene also took a hit, so after I worked out this morning (cardio, weights, AND yoga!!!), I actually took a nice hot bath and shaved my legs.  TMI?  Sorry, but I feel so much better about myself that I had to share.

So, yes, got a good workout in this morning.  If you recall in my last post, I put together a healthy Christmas countdown.  While I did miss yesterday, I have been sticking to it otherwise.  Today, I was at “With 8 days left till Christmas, I’m giving to myself, 5 minutes running, 4 sets of pushups, 3 sets of lunges, 2 sets of squats, and yoga workout on my TV.”  It’s been unseasonably warm here – just below freezing today, I think – so I wish I could have done my running outside.  Alas, my husband was helping a friend out this morning, so I had the kids.  As such, I hit the treadmill.  It’s been a long time since I’ve run, what with school, rehabbing my IT band, and making excuses for not working out (ha!).  I didn’t know if I could even run for 5 minutes straight!  So sad, but that’s what happens when you sit on your butt and study a lot.  I feel like I’m starting over a little bit – my own fault, I know – but at the same time, I’ve run enough in the past to know that as long as I persevere, I will improve.

Here’s what I did:

Treadmill: 5 min warmup, (1 min 6mph @ incline of 2, 4 mins 3.5 – 3.7 mph @ incline of 2) x 5, with the last walking interval at 2.5 – 3.5 mph @ incline of 0

2 sets of squats with 15 lb dumbbells

3 sets of lunges with body weight

20 minutes of yoga (can’t remember the video…. part of Beginner Flow Yoga with Shiva Rea, I think?)

I wore my Garmin, of course, and my heart rate was so high while I was on the treadmill.  Good thing it was only 1 minute running intervals!  You can do anything for 1 minute, right?

As for the rest of the day, I got myself a cut and colour in the afternoon, did a little Christmas shopping, took a nap on the couch, and then we decorated the tree and played Sorry and with Perplexus – it was family game night!  It’s definitely looking and feeling more Christmas-y in our house now. I also just finished off my 4 sets of pushups, and added in one set just for good measure.

But now, I’m ready for some more sleep.  My daughter has power skating tomorrow and I’ll be getting in 6 flights of stairs, 5 minutes running, 4 sets of pushups, 3 sets of lunges, 2 sets of squats, and a yoga workout on my TV.  We’ll also be taking in a local light display in the evening, which I know the kids will love. We missed it last year because we headed to Arizona pretty much right after my last exam, so I’m looking forward to seeing their faces as they ooh and aah over all the lights.

Have lots of other stuff going on this week.  I’ll plan on sharing some cookie recipes and my plan for getting fitter rather than rounder during the next 2 weeks.

What family traditions do you enjoy in the week leading up to Christmas?

3 thoughts on “Done and Done: Fun After Exams

  1. Deana says:

    I’m so happy that your done with exams! You deserve a nice hot bath, peppermint stuffed cookie and a glass of wine. Your my hero. Seriously I do not think I could go to school and juggle family too. So don’t be so hard about the running. It’ll come back. Muscle memory is an amazing thing. Sometimes survival mode has to be good enough. 🙂 enjoy your week!

    Like

  2. Kat says:

    Congratulations on finishing your exams! Don’t fret about the running – in addition to prioritizing your life, your body has been working to heal that nightmare of an IT band/psoas thing once and for all. Apparently what I have to look forward to this week is not cooking?

    Like

Leave a Reply

