Thirty Six

It’s my 36th birthday today.  Happy birthday to me!

I’ll let you in on a little secret: there is something that bothers me about the fact that I’m now officially closer to 40 than to 30.  I know it’s just a number, but really, I don’t like getting older.  I’m just that much closer to death.  I’m ever the eternal optimist – ha!

When I was younger, I had thought that by the time I reached 36 I would be a grown up, but I sure don’t feel like one.  I still procrastinate, I still have trouble getting out of bed in the morning, I still have trouble not eating too much chocolate.  I occasionally still have tantrums (just ask my husband) and I’m not that mature when it comes to dealing with people who irritate me.  Maybe in another 36 years?

Speaking of another 36 years, my natural instinct is to look ahead and make plans for the next 4 years leading up to 40.  And, yes, goals are good.  So later today, I’ll probably spend some time pondering what I want to accomplish by the time I’m 40 (like getting this IT band rehabbed!), but for now, I think I’ll get spend some time NOT thinking too far ahead and try to enjoy the day (as much as I can, considering I’m at school).  After all, even if you ARE a grown up, birthdays are special, right?

6 thoughts on “Thirty Six

  1. Kat says:

    Happy birthday, lady! I’m with Lisa – this is going to be an absolutely wonderful year for you and you deserve it!

    p.s. Maybe our grandparents weren’t so crazy when they said they felt like kids again?

    Like

  2. Deana says:

    Happy birthday my dear blogging friend! 36 is young! And I’m in my 40′ s and yes it’s the new 30! I’ll keep it rocking until you get here! 🙂 happy happy day.
    Get that IT band better so we can do a run together!

    Like

  3. Terzah says:

    As the security guard at my library says, yeah, you’re getting older, but you’re also getting hotter! :^)

    Don’t sweat the b-days. For me, the closer I get to 40 the more comfortable I am in my own skin. I have one more year or so of 30s and I’m really excited about it. I feel like it’s just getting better.

    Happy Birthday!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

