Goals for the Week: Enough With the Candy!

I’m starting to feel overwhelmed with all the stuff I’ve got going on:

  1. must start studying hard for a big exam coming up in 2 weeks
  2. kids’ hockey
  3. volunteer stuff (deposits and record keeping)
  4. plan and shop for meals
  5. physio exercises daily
  6. workout regularly
  7. lining up patients and getting them booked in (we book in the patients that we work on and are responsible for finding certain types of patients in order to get the credits we need to graduate, e.g., 12 root canals, 18 crowns/bridges/posts)

Unfortunately, when I feel overwhelmed, I tend to procrastinate instead of just picking somewhere to start.  Not good.

Along with not getting stuff done due to the procrastination, I’ve also been stress-eating Halloween candy.  Yikes.  Also not good.

I’ve decided that it’s time to stop the sugar overload because it’s making me feel terrible physically and guilty.  However, I’m finding that my motivation is definitely lacking, so I’m putting a reward system into effect.  My goals for the next week are:

1) to not have any treats (just say no!)

2) to run 4 times (Saturday, Sunday, Tuesday, Thursday)

3) to do my physio exercises everyday

If I do all of these things, I will buy myself a new pair of Uggs, because after wearing mine for 2 winters, they are completely trashed and not fit for wear.  Now that it’s getting colder, though, I’ve really been missing the snugly warmth of my Ugg boots, so it’s time to get some new ones.

What are your favourite Halloween treats?  I really love Kitkats and peanut butter cups, but would pretty much never turn my nose up at any form of chocolate treat.

 

5 thoughts on “Goals for the Week: Enough With the Candy!

  1. Kat says:

    The night before my half-marathon I bought a packet of Oreos. MISTAKE. They are locked away on the top shelf right now but they may need to come with me to work next week. To be determined.

    Like

  2. Terzah says:

    I can really relate to this post, especially the part about volunteer stuff. I’ve been feeling massively guilty about the work I’m NOT getting done for my church library, where I am the world’s lousiest volunteer. I’m thinking of just leveling with them and saying I really don’t have time now, maybe when my kids are older….

    Halloween candy….peanut butter cups, Take Fives, peanut M&Ms…..sigh….

    Like

  3. Ameena says:

    I resisted the urge to throw all of Maya’s candy in the trash today. Not because I want to eat it but because I’m sick of looking at it. I thought I’d gotten rid of it all but nope…a second bag is just hanging out here.

    Mini-Snickers used to be my favorite until my skin went all haywire after eating them. So sad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

