28 Days: A Fitness Commitment

As I was falling asleep last night, feeling guilty for eating WAY too much chocolate cake, I decided it was time to get back to regular workouts, starting…now.  So, today was Day 1 of 28.  That’s right.  I’m planning 28 straight days of being active.

My general plan is to add some strength training in 4 days a week and cardio every day.  Some of that cardio will likely be more accurately described as “active rest,” because the body does need recovery time, but I tend to think the human body was meant to move every day, so some walking or easy biking after harder days will be fine, I’m sure.

Do I think it will be challenging to fit in activity everyday?  Probably, but this likely relates more to the lack of motivation I’ve been feeling lately rather than a time-crunch thing.  Don’t get me wrong – my days are pretty full, but 20 minutes here and there is definitely doable, even on my busy days. (Although seriously, last year 20 minutes was a stretch a lot of the time, and sleeping an extra 15 minutes often trumped showering.)

What am I hoping to accomplish in these 28 days?

1. A re-establishment of my fitness habit

2. Weight loss (the number on the scale has been creeping up and my jeans are definitely tighter!) 

3. More energy!

4. Increased strength and flexibility

5. An improvement with my IT band injury

Tonight, I rode the stationary bike for 20 minutes, using an iTrain workout, and I did one set of my 300 workout.  Usually the 300 workout involves 2 sets through, but not today.  And that’s okay.  I’m just really happy I did what I set out to do today.

Tomorrow: 20 minutes of walking, 10 minutes of core

7 thoughts on “28 Days: A Fitness Commitment

  1. Kat says:

    Plus (and this is a huge plus!), if you manage to make moving your body a priority through all sorts of circumstances over the next 28 days, it will get easier to “make space” in your week when you don’t have it hanging over your head.

    Good luck – keep us posted. Maybe a daily update? The Internet is a great accountability partner 😉

    Like

  2. Liisa says:

    Yes, tell us what you do daily… We’ll keep you accountable! I’m gonna do it with you too…though some days may include 45 minutes of walking to and from school kid’s school.

    Like

Leave a Reply

