Last Minute Preparations

I’m a planner and I like to be organized.  (Type A much?)  But I’ve been quite pressed for time this week, so I’m not packed for Disneyland yet and we fly out tomorrow night.  What?  I don’t have my packing checklist all typed up and my toiletries neatly packed in Ziploc bags?  Nope, not this time.  I will be throwing some clothes in a bag tomorrow and hoping I have everything essential.  I figure as long as I’ve got my passport and wallet, I’m pretty much good to go.

I just figured out that the rooms have blowdryers, so I don’t have to pack that along.  I do have to track down some sunscreen, since we’ve got tons of it lying around the house.  Might as well use it now, because I”m sure it’ll be expired by the time it gets hot and sunny here next year.  Other essentials:

  • bathing suit and flips flops
  • runners and workout gear (this may be more hopeful than realistic, but whatevs)
  • shorts and T’s
  • my iPod
  • my laptop (this didn’t used to be essential, but we really miss having a computer when we travel without it!)
  • the camera (our point-and-shoot)
  • our reservation info
  • toiletries
  • U.S. cash
  • my cell phone (just in case my kids get lost – I have our cell phone numbers on wristbands that they’ll wear)
  • airplane snacks and activities for the kids
  • a book for the plane
  • comfy shoes!
Well, look at that, I do have a bit of a checklist going now.
What’s on your list of essentials when you travel?  Seriously, I used to think that people who brought their laptops everywhere were crazy, but it’s definitely come in handy several times for directions, events, and keeping in touch with family, so now I bring it along.
6 thoughts on “Last Minute Preparations

  1. Kat says:

    When I read the “US Cash” bullet, I had a little chuckle because I didn’t even think about that.

    In my carry-on, I always have inhalers, flight anxiety meds, a HUGE bag of bars/fruit leathers/dark chocolate, magazines, my iPod, a blanket and inflatable pillow.

    Otherwise, my suitcase ends up being a hot mess of clothing since I have no ability to moderate whatsoever.

    Like

  2. Holly says:

    Honestly your list is basically what I bring on trips too! You’re going to have a great trip and anything you forget to pack you can always buy when you get there.

    Like

  3. Ameena says:

    We also bring the iPad, Maya’s DVD player, 2 laptops, 2 cell phones, and an international phone. My husband is crazy, that’s all I can say about that.

    Snacks are a must because I usually won’t touch anything the plan has to offer. Aside from that I am usually okay with a book or magazine and my clothes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

