A Little Whining, and Disney on Deck

I have fallen off the workout wagon this week, I’m afraid.  Not that surprising, I suppose, given that I spent Monday and Tuesday evenings preparing for a test today.  Funny – I wrote my first exam of the year before most other university students have even started school for the term!  That’s dentistry for you, I guess.

Tonight was CanSkate registration for my kids and I have a some paperwork to do, because I’m an idiot and volunteered to be the treasurer for our College’s student council.  I’m an accountant and I’ve been on student council for a couple of years, so it was sort of a natural fit, but there is a little work involved, and I would rather be doing other things with my time.  Ah well, that’s the joy of volunteering, right?

Tomorrow night is hockey registration and I’ll not only be registering my kids, but also volunteering on behalf of my class to sign people up to have mouthguards made for their kids.  It’s a class fundraiser for grad so I felt like I should “do my part” for my class – even though a few of my classmates have let me down lately.

Also tomorrow night: packing for Disneyland!  Even though I won’t be running the half on Sunday (boo!), we’re still going, because the trip is all booked.  We’re going to finish the summer in style and enjoy some family time before the kids start school and their activities.  Just because I’m not running the half doesn’t mean I’m not going to make the most of my time visiting the “happiest place on earth.”  (Ha – we’ll see about that!  Any bets on how many meltdowns my kids have?)

Will I fit in any more workouts this week?  Frankly, I don’t think it’s going to happen.  I’ve got a to-do list a mile long and a few things that are even higher priority than working out.  Maybe I’ll surprise myself and squeeze in some weights or a bike ride, but I am feeling overwhelmed, stressed, and exhausted already, so a little break until I settle into the school schedule might not be so bad.

Have I mentioned that I love Disneyland?  (Disney World, too).  I’m not sure if it’s a nostalgia thing, or just the fact that everything is so clean and cheerful, but I always feel…happy when I visit.  On my must-ride list are:

  • Pirates of the Caribbean
  • Space Mountain
  • Splash Mountain
There are, of course, lots of other rides I enjoy, but if I miss, say, It’s a Small World, I’m not sure I’d really regret it.  Visit Disneyland without hitting the 3 rides above?  Inconceivable!
As I mentioned, school is already stressful.  Unfortunately, it’s about more than just the classes and homework.  As I’ve alluded to before in previous posts, I had an issue with a prof last year.  He’ll be teaching me again this year and much as I try to not worry about it, well, I’m worrying about it.  Details aren’t something I can get into online, but it’s a crap-ass situation and it’s causing me anxiety.
On the other hand, I got some happy news today – I won a blog giveaway from Mel over at Trying to be a Yummy Mummy. I am so excited about this.  I started reading Mel’s blog a few months ago, and she is one fun and cheerful mama.  She’s an oatmeal lover and watches roller derby – how cool is that!  Thanks, Mel.
What’s your favourite Disney ride?
5 thoughts on “A Little Whining, and Disney on Deck

  1. stacey says:

    Enjoy Disney with your family! You all so deserve a trip to the happiest place on earth. I am going off what people have told me. I am a disney virgin. But your top 3 sound pretty awesome! Have a great time.

    Like

  2. bubblymel says:

    Thanks for the Mention Joanne! Your Books are on their way!!! I am sooo jealous I have wante to go to Disneyland since I was a little girl!!! Hopefully one day soon I can make it over to the US!!! My aunt lives in California so it is kinda convenient! Enjoy your trip!

    Like

  3. Kat says:

    Lady, you are CONSTANTLY moving. I hope that you have a wonderful (and very much deserved) vacation with the family. If things get rough, just remember there’s always a french fry stand around the corner 😉

    p.s. I’ve only been to Disney once but Space Mountain was definitely my favorite ride.

    Like

Leave a Reply

