A Girl’s Gotta Do What a Girl’s Gotta Do: Adventures in Stationary Biking

My left IT band is still unhappy, so I’ve been riding my stationary bike, which is sort of like watching paint dry.  However, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do, right?  Since running’s out right now, I’ve been parking myself in front of my TV on my ancient Precor bike every couple of days.  I haven’t biked for quite a while, though (didn’t have easy access to a bike this summer), so I’m having a heck of a time getting my heart rate up before my quads are screaming at me.  The legs just can’t keep up with my lungs, which is rather opposite of what goes on when I run.

Met with a physio yesterday and while he didn’t totally rule out my half marathon on September 4th, it’s not looking good.  I’m super disappointed (hello, repeat of 2010), but really, I just want to get this injury under control.  It seems just as it starts to get better, I push too hard for my body (note: I increase my workouts upon the advice of people with training in exercise and fitness, who obviously are giving me the best advice they can, but it hasn’t worked out so far…) and end up tweaking the ITB.  I think time plus continuing with my foam rolling, strengthening, and physiotherapy will eventually sort things out, but it’s been frustrating to take keep having to step back from my training every time I make some gains.  Ah well, I’m trying to think long-term.

While we’re on the topic of physiotherapy, I’ve got a bit of a dilemma.  I saw a new physical therapist yesterday and he seemed very good.  He did an assessment and treatment and seems to have a lot of knowledge and experience.  Now, here comes the “but.”  I had originally wanted to see another physio at the clinic who sort of specializes in running injuries, has a background in running and triathlon (competitive), and extensive experience coaching runners.  Unfortunately, he was on vacation, so I went with this other guy.  The running guy was recommended to me by my personal trainer, and I just discovered that he was the running coach for a guy I know, who had mentioned his coach in glowing terms.  I’m really tempted to switch over to the guy who specializes in running injuries, but I sort of feel bad about it.  I mean, it seems sort of ridiculous, because I’ve only seen the new physio once, but I somehow have a sense of guilt for wanting to change when I had absolutely no issue with the guy I saw.

Opinions on this?  I know in my gut that I should just switch, and that’s probably what I’ll do, but I’d love to hear what you have to say.

P.S. In case you’re wondering, school is okay so far, but our class unexpectedly found out that there’s been a change of instructors for one of our classes, and it’s someone I thought I would not have to deal with this year.  I’m actually surprised I’m not more stressed out about it, because the situation caused me a whole lot of anxiety last year, but so far, I’ve remained fairly calm about the whole thing.  We’ll see, I guess, how things play out.

 

10 thoughts on “A Girl’s Gotta Do What a Girl’s Gotta Do: Adventures in Stationary Biking

  1. Kat says:

    Go with the running guy. He’ll be more practiced in figuring out if the root cause of your ITB issues is completely different than what you’ve been treating all along.

    Just remember to be gentle to yourself, lady! You WILL beat this.

    Like

  2. Holly says:

    Go with who you think will help you more. I’m sure they’ve experienced this before — people switching around. Do what is best for you!

    I have never liked riding on a stationary bike — I have the same problem as you: my quads start screaming and I have barely gotten started!

    Like

  3. deana says:

    I feel so much empathy for you. I ran the marathon in march. It band issues. I had another marathon scheduled for may, a 1/2 for June. I did neither which was such a let down. I started training for a full in July, diagnosed with Lyme dz, and then the hip started feeling tweaked with milage back up to 20+ a week. But you have to decide do you want running to be a life long sport? If so take the time you need to really fix the prob. Also go with the dr who is experienced in running. First of all he will understand your inner struggle to run, regardless of pain. Which many people just don’t get. Hang in there I’m routing for ya. But have been in the same boat for the past 6 months. It’s frustrating as hell.

    Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      Thank you, thank you! I totally agree with you about people not getting that I want to run. And it’s good to know that I’m not the only one dealing with a chronic problem – and I don’t even have the Lyme disease thing going on! That’s a tough one, I hear.

      Like

Leave a Reply

