So Hot

I’ve been having a hard time finding the time to blog.  I have a fair bit of downtime at work (I’m working on a student dental license for the summer), but I don’t have access to the internet so I haven’t been writing very much.  Today, though, I decided to just type in Word and then copy and paste later.  It doesn’t quite feel the same, but it’ll do.  I miss getting my thoughts and workouts down in black and white.  Somehow it makes everything…clearer.

The hip/IT band rehab is going quite well.  Still a little hip tightness after 5k, but no knee pain at all, so I’m super happy.  I ran/walked 8k last Tuesday (I think?) on a beautiful, sunny, breezy summer day, and then Friday night I got in a 6.5k run in my neighbourhood.  I ran easy for 10 min, then aimed for a 6:30 min/km pace.  I knew I wouldn’t be able to sustain it for the 25 min I wanted to run, so I ran for 10 min, walked for 2, ran another 10, walked for 2, and then ran a sub 6:00 min/km for the last 2 min, then 10 min fairly easy.  I felt great afterward and even had a nice chat with my neighbour, who was taking her dog out for a walk as I was heading home.

It's been hot and humid as of late, so I can totally relate to the Wicked Witch, because I totally feel like I'm gonna melt

Tonight I’m planning to walk/run 10k.  I was scheduled to do it Sunday, but had a late night after my cousin’s wedding.  While I had only 1 drink at the wedding, it was quite hot outside and I was feeling super dehydrated Sunday on top of being really tired and having 4 hours of driving to do.  Then I was going to get it in yesterday instead, but I didn’t plan ahead for the 36 degrees Celcius (plus humidity) that we got here.  Not that I’m complaining about the heat – I love it.  It’s just definitely not smart running weather for a Northern girl like me.  So, after work today, I’m heading over to my sister’s to borrow her treadmill.

Hate the treadmill, but I really want to get this long run in, even though I know I’m getting to the point where I should just keep going with my training plan and forget about that long run.  I’m just kicking myself because, really, I had no good reason for not getting it in.  It was just poor planning on my part.

Speaking of planning, my eating has been pretty decent.  I’ve been meal planning and getting in lots of veggies (summer salads!).  The only real issue I’m having is with weekend eating.  I’m definitely splurging more than is wise, so I’m not losing weight.  I’m not gaining, though, either, which is good.  I think I just need to dig out a little extra motivation to get through the weekends without eating so many treats and I’ll be in good shape.

Do you find that you eat more healthfully in the summer, or do you find it harder to avoid the indulgences at social events?

7 thoughts on “So Hot

  1. Deana says:

    I’m not as hungry in the summer when it’s hot. So cold salads, wraps, fresh veggies are my thing. My down fall is a glass of wine in the evening. Sitting in the yard, looking at all the gardens. That’s a tough habit to break.

    Like

  2. Holly says:

    I think I eat better in the summer — cold fruits and veggies sound so good all the time so I tend to snack on them more often. In the winter I tend to want warm foods like toast or bagels!

    I’m glad your knee has been feeling better!

    Like

  3. Kat says:

    1. I wouldn’t say that I eat “better” in the summer but definitely less processed/more raw. As for social events, all bets are off.

    2. Confession: I type all of my posts in Gmail, then I cut and paste. Or if I’m away from a computer I’ll start handwriting. Whatever saves time in the end.

    Like

  4. Karen R says:

    I’m with you on the treadmill thing – can’t stand it and so this summer have sometimes run in temps in the 90s just to avoid the dreadmill.

    Sounds like work is going well!

    The weight thing has been so frustrating this summer. I’ve been eating a lot better but not losing. And sometimes gaining – although I’m not sure if that has to do with increased workout intensities. Oh well!

    Like

  5. Ameena says:

    I think I eat a lot less in the summer because the heat totally kills my appetite. It’s over 95 degrees in NYC right now and I am hardly hungry at all. But I keep drinking all day long!! It’s ridiculous how much water I’ve consumed. But in general I think I do eat better – less sugar and more fresh fruit!

    Like

  6. bubblymel says:

    I always eat more in Winter!! My problem in Summer is Alcohol!!! There is always so many parties and BBQ’s to go to but this Summer I’m going to be extra good and bring salad with me everywhere I go and have chicken instead of beef or sausages!! Even though I am partial to a sausage in bread!! I love all the Summer fruits and no one ever wants to stand over a hot oven when it is boiling outside!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

