Feeling Lazy

This morning, my son called me lazy.  I was not happy about it, but not necessarily for the reasons you might think.

You see, I have had a fairly care-free couple of weeks around here.  I finished school on May  13th, had some catch-up to do around the house and with appointments, and then was out of town, first visiting my brother in Calgary and then visiting my sister, who had a brand-new, super-cute, baby boy.  Last week I got in some workouts, had a couple of appointments, but really didn’t accomplish a whole lot more than cleaning off the dining room table.  Yesterday, I mostly read and ignored the disaster in my kitchen.

So, when my son called me lazy – because he thought I should have made his lunch the night before rather than this morning, of all things – I guess it touched a nerve, because darn it, I am feeling lazy.  My eating over the weekend was not stellar, so I’m feeling rather bloated and low-energy.  I didn’t work out yesterday because it was a rest day after Sunday’s long run, but I haven’t worked out yet today, either.  Instead, I read 2 Harry Potter books – I’m re-reading the series before the last movie comes out July 15th – and snacked on carbs most of the day.  Yuck.  I just…feel…gross.

I don’t think I’m alone in this sort of thing – at least, I hope I’m not alone.  The key, I think, is not to give in to the desire to lie on the couch reading and snacking all day.  I must workout tonight, I must workout tomorrow, and the day after that, too.  I must cut back on the starchy carbs, because frankly, I feel disgusting due to the swings in my blood sugar and the number on the scale is starting to creep up.  Tempting as it may be, I can not give in to my sugar and chocolate cravings all the time.  The reality is that if I do, I will gain weight and I’m not going to feel healthy.  Yes, I deserve some time to relax and recover from the school year, but this should include treating my body properly, with good food and movement, not with – let’s face it – laziness.

Thanks for listening to my self talk.  I’m feeling much better now.  Sometimes making the healthy choice still seems like a struggle.  Guess that’s part of why I consider myself “mostly” fit.

I’m going to go hop on the bike and then do some core work.  It’s the least I can do for my body after what I fed it today!

7 thoughts on “Feeling Lazy

  1. Holly @ The Runny Egg says:

    You are so right — for me when I’m “relaxing” I tend to think that means sitting around eating whatever I want, then feeling stuffed, then feeling more lazy, then not wanting to work out, etc. It is kind of a nasty cycle that you can get caught up in!

    Like

  2. Ameena says:

    If my daughter called me lazy I might smack her upside the head. Not that I’ve ever, ever hit her before, but that would totally set me off!

    The worst thing anybody could call me is lazy and so I understand why it upset you so much. Try not to let it get to you and enjoy this rare downtime in your life. Things will be crazy again before you know it!

    (Really, I wouldn’t hit her in a million years, I just like to be dramatic).

    Like

  3. deana says:

    Been there…done that…Don’t beat yourself up. I applaud you for getting back on track. I’m a dietitian so eating and food are my “livelyhood” so to speak. I even submit to the handfuls of m&m’s or a bag of chips a few days in a row, and then its like my body says “stop!”… I feel just as you are, and I get back on track. Everyone has those moments and gosh darn it as mom’s, career woman, fitness people we deserve it. In general we are over scheduled, over worked and running in 50 million directions that when we do stop to recharge we feel “lazy”. Not true. Your an amazing woman…make lunches in the morning and be proud!

    Like

  4. Kat says:

    Relaxation is KEY!

    What’s hard for kids (now that I try to think back to being a pup) is that they’re SO active all the time that basically anything that’s less than manic gets labeled as Sloth in their minds. You should tell your son about this moment when he’s in high school and is trying to sneak that extra minute or five of sleep in 😉

    p.s. YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY NOT LAZY.

    Like

  5. thehealthyapron says:

    wow, I would have been in so much trouble growing up if I called my mom lazy! My dad would have freaked! haha Anyway, you shouldn’t feel disgusting. Maybe your body is just ready for a break! Instead of looking at exercise or cleaning as something you have to do, try starting by doing something fun! Meet a friend at the park for a walk, have your son help you pack his lunch, take the kids for bike ride. IF you bring something fresh to your routine, it might help get you out of your rut! a new music list ALWAYS pumps me up for my workouts!

    Like

  6. Jolene (www.everydayfoodie.ca) says:

    Yep – the hubby’s race was out at Pike Lake!! We have been there 3 years in a row now – it is a nice course! The day actually turned out really nice out there, a bit windy, but a good temperature, and no rain.

    The hubby shaved 20 minutes off his time last year, and our good friend Emma came in as women’s champ! It was a good weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

