Looking Back

Now that I’m fully immersed in half marathon training, I thought it would be interesting to look back at what I was doing this day last year and compare it to this morning’s run.  According to the data from my Garmin, I didn’t workout on May 31, 2010, but I did get in a 15 min run on June 1st.  Apparently, I was rehabbing my IT band at the time.  Surprise, surprise.  Last spring it was my right IT band, and now this year I’ve got funky stuff going on with my left psoas/hip/IT band.  Good thing I’m getting back into strength training!  I think my hips and core need it.

Flash forward to my run this morning, which was 6k at an “easy” pace (it’s based on the numbers I ran through the McMillan Running Calculator) plus 6 x 30 sec intervals at 10k pace.  Let me just say that 1) I am terrible at holding a steady pace, 2) the “easy” pace didn’t feel that easy, and 3) I am a slow runner, but better slow than not at all!

I followed up this morning’s run with an hour session with my personal trainer this afternoon.  Why, you might ask, did I do that?  (Yes, it seems a bit crazy, even to me, given that I’m just getting back into regular workouts.)  Well, my trainer will be moving away to Calgary in a couple of weeks, so this is actually the last week I’ll be able to work with her!  So sad about that…

Anyway, it was either today or Thursday morning at 8am, which didn’t work for me.  I really wanted to get my run in and knew that there was no way that was going to happen after my workout with her (hello, trashed legs), so I laced up the shoes and got out there.  My legs are totally dead now, so I’ll be taking it easy on the stationary bike tomorrow – or maybe I should take my actual bike out on the road tomorrow.  It’s supposed to be a nice day, after all, and what’s more pleasant than going for an easy cruise, perhaps down by the river?

On the food front, I didn’t do a great job nutrition-wise today.  I had a small glass of OJ before my run this morning (I’m experimenting to see what my stomach/GI tract can handle), and then by the time I was done my run, I had to quickly shower and get out of the house because we were getting spray-foam insulation installed in our basement and the process is totally stinky.  Needless to say, there was inappropriate refueling after the run.  On the plus side, I had a nice salad for lunch; a Larabar before my workout; a post-workout shake afterward; beef tenderloin, whole wheat baguette, and roasted asparagus for supper.  I snuck in a couple of indulgences at supper tonight, because it was a dinner celebrating me being done 3rd year dentistry, and if you can’t indulge on the day you do 2 workouts, when can you?  So, it was a glass of red wine and some yummy cookie dough and brownie chunk ice cream for dessert.  Yum yum.

There are a whole lot of things I should get done tomorrow, and I don’t really want to do any of them.  I guess I should at least start by putting together a to do list tomorrow morning…Other than that, my day is wide open.  Such a great feeling.

Have a great day tomorrow!  How’s your to do list looking these days?

 

 

10 thoughts on “Looking Back

  1. Holly says:

    I haven’t been making to do lists so to be honest I feel a bit lost!

    I’m glad you had a nice celebratory dinner/dessert last night. You earned it!

    Like

  2. Kat says:

    My to do list isn’t nearly as frightening as it could be, but it’s definitely time for me to cross another pile of Thank You notes off of my list. Yipes.

    Like

  3. bubblymel says:

    Totally feel lost with out my To Do list!!! Doesn’t mean everything gets done but at least I know what I need to do!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

