A Weekend Review: Holding Babies and Running (but not at the same time, of course)

It’s been an eventful weekend, as long as you consider holding a newborn an event. 🙂  I’m sure I’m not biased at all, but my sister’s baby boy is SO cute.  And so small.  I had forgotten just how tiny newborns are.  Almost makes me want another one…and then I remember the lack of sleep, constantly changing diapers, lack of sleep, dealing with thrush, crying (not always the baby), lack of sleep…

I did not get a workout in yesterday, but I did get a 2 hour nap in.  It’s all about priorities, right?  Haha.

However, I did get my run in today, which was 4 x 800m intervals at slightly faster than race pace.  My legs were mostly recovered from Thursday’s workout and I thought the run went well today.  My legs felt good, I was able to maintain the pace that I wanted, and my knee and hip felt good – a little tight, but not painful.  Here’s what my heart rate looked like:

I also finished Run Faster from the 5k to the Marathon: How to be Your Own Best Coach by Brad Hudson and Matt Fitzgerald this weekend.  I thought the information was pretty useful, though it’s very running specific and I’d like to do a little more cross-training than what they include in their basic plans.  Luckily, there is a lot of discussion of key workouts and adapting the plan to your needs, so I think I’ll be able to use a lot of the information in the book regardless.  I didn’t really know a lot about different running workouts, so this book was good because it explained not only what the types are (fartleks, hills, tempo, etc.), but also what you’re trying to accomplish with every run you do.

Next up: Run Faster, Run Less by Bill Pierce, Scott Murr, and Ray Ross.  Basically, they advocate 3 key running workouts per week plus 2 cross-training sessions, which is more in line with what I had in mind.  However, their plans start out assuming you have fairly high mileage going on already, and they recommend that beginning runners get lots of 5k’s and 10k’s under their belts before tackling longer distance races.  And since I’m signed up to do a half marathon in the fall, this isn’t exactly going to work for me.  But, I’m hoping I can get some useful info from this book, too, that I can incorporate into my training this summer.  I like to think that more knowledge never hurts…

On the agenda this week are: getting summer plans organized, lining up babysitters and child care, finding a place to rent in Regina (where I’ll be working for the summer), and starting decluttering around the house.  Should be a productive week.  I’m sure I’ll fit in some workouts, relaxation, and reading in there, too.

How do you come up with your training plans?  Any books on running/triathlon/fitness that you love?

8 thoughts on “A Weekend Review: Holding Babies and Running (but not at the same time, of course)

  1. Holly @ The Runny Egg says:

    Jason read Run Faster, Run Less and was disappointed to see that you need a good base of running already — his first long run was supposed to be 13 miles or something like that. Maybe he’ll be able to follow that next year!

    Like

  2. Kat says:

    I don’t have any workout plans that I follow religiously, but I definitely recommend blending as long as it works for you! Some workouts will fit perfectly, you’ll have to fit yourself for some and the others you can just wipe out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

