A Short Run, and Anxiously Waiting

Went out for a run today.  Was planning to do some intervals.  The sun was out, but it wasn’t too hot and my legs felt good.  An ideal running day, I would say.  Unfortunately, I had a few, er, GI issues and had to cut the run short.  In total, I ran for 8 minutes before calling it a day and finding the nearest washroom.  Hate it when that happens.

By the time my tummy settled down, I had the kids and we were making supper before running to my son’s soccer game.  Then there was the whole getting ready for bed thing, and, to top it off, my sister called, asking how to tell if her water had just broken.  Um, what?

I’m now anxiously waiting to hear from her again, although I have a feeling she won’t be updating me for awhile, since it’s almost 1am here and she’s either in labour or waiting to be.  Aargh, hate the waiting game!

I’m excited to meet my new nephew, but also nervous for my sister.  This will be her first child, and I distinctly remember how nervous, scared, and excited I was when I was in labour with my son.  I felt completely out of control of my own body, didn’t know what to expect in terms of pain, and hated the nurse who was assigned to me.  Overall, I wouldn’t rate the whole labour thing very highly, but meeting my son (and then 22 months later, my daughter) was absolutely life-changing.

I’m off to bed now, because it’s WAY past my bedtime.  I’m scheduled to see my physical therapist tomorrow morning, and then my trainer, but I guess my plans could be affected by what’s going on with my sister.  I also see that my daughter is fast asleep on the carpet outside my bedroom (likely having fallen asleep there after as trip to the washroom), so I’d better put her to bed, too.

4 thoughts on “A Short Run, and Anxiously Waiting

  1. Holly says:

    That is funny about your sister — I’m sure I’ll do the same thing if Jason and I have kids.

    Sorry about the stomach issues — that happens to me once in a while and I hate feeling like I cannot move fast enough to get home (or to a public bathroom)

    Like

  2. Kat says:

    Lady, this is a weird one but since my stomach has been a mess, I’ve found that eating a few figs before I run has been The Safest Snack.

    Oh, how exciting for Sister of Jo! I can’t wait to hear all about the little one! Prayers for a safe and healthy delivery and baby!

    Like

Leave a Reply

