Facials = Bliss, and Me and My Psoas

It’s been a heck of a long time since I last had a facial.  Much, much too long.  I don’t know about you, but I think that getting a facial is bliss.  I can’t think of anything else that is as luxurious, as relaxing, as downright indulgent, as a facial.

Today’s treatment was the best 90 minutes I’ve had the pleasure of enjoying in, honestly, I don’t know how long.  The esthetician was friendly but appropriately quiet once she got to work on my face.  Spa music coaxed me into slow, deep breaths.  Soft, natural scents were relaxing without being overpowering.  The lights were dim, the pressure from her hands was perfect, and my body was wrapped in a cocoon-like blanket.  By the time she was finishing up with a scalp massage (!!!!), I was completely, utterly relaxed.  In fact, when the esthetician stepped out of the room while waiting for one of the masques to do its work, I’m pretty sure I drifted off.  Seriously, it felt almost like I was floating.  Time was irrelevant.

Aside from my nearly-out-of-body facial experience, I also had an appointment with my physical therapist.  He did an assessment, figured out that my psoas (see the picture on the left if you aren’t sure where this muscle is) was in spasm, hypothesized about why that might be, treated me for it, and told me to keep moving, since the problem was related to the fact that my ilium had been stuck on the left side.  I had been so scared that I’d have to stop running, so this was the best news I could have got!  However, if you’ve ever had your psoas worked on, you know it sucks.  It hurts. A whole lot.  There was a lot of deep breathing going on during this appointment, too.

After my physical therapy appointment, I let my trainer kick my butt.  Heavier weights today than on Monday, more abs and back, and more upper body.  Since I was still sore from Monday’s work out, a couple of things were tough to do (hello, jump leg presses).  I am officially sore and will probably hurt every time I sit down for the next 3 days.  Not kidding.  I love that feeling though, of knowing that my muscles have been pushed to their limits.  When you get to the last few reps of a set and you’re shaking and breathing hard (or maybe evening groaning a little) and you’re not sure you can push through, but you do – it’s a feeling of accomplishment.  Love. It.

Finished off the day by watching my kids play soccer.  My daughter had a practice and my son had a game.  They’re both playing for the first time this year, so it’s interesting to see how they approach the whole thing.  My son actually seems to be pretty good and has a sense of defensive positioning.  Several parents mentioned that he was amazing in net 2 weeks ago (which I missed due to finals), and I believe it.  He is pretty fearless when it comes to going for the ball.

My daughter is 2 years younger and seems to be one of the younger kids on her team.  She is fast and can keep up to the older kids, but is still developing a feel for moving the ball around.  I’m sure it’ll come.

What I noticed with both of them, though, is that they really seemed to be enjoying themselves out there.  My daughter actually skips on the field when she’s not running.  If that’s not happy, I don’t know what is.  On the other hand, my daughter’s attention span dies around 30 minutes, and my son is not really interested in the action on the field when he’s on the sidelines (sorry to the parents who had to reprimand him for kicking gravel while I was engrossed in conversation), but, I’m sure that’ll come, too.

Did you play soccer growing up?  I didn’t – there wasn’t soccer in our town when I was growing up.  I played ball, though, and other activities.  Ever had your psoas worked on?

P.S. 4 servings of veggies today and recorded what I ate.  I’m on a roll. 🙂

12 thoughts on “Facials = Bliss, and Me and My Psoas

  1. Ameena says:

    My daughter is really athletic and loves soccer. This is surprising since I am the most unathletic person in the world. No really, I am.

    And now I realize I really need a facial! Talk about the best feeling ever!!

    Like

  2. Kat says:

    Lady, way to rock the veggies this week – you haven’t wasted any time getting this show on the road!

    I did play soccer as a pup but I was TERRIBLE. I think after seventh grade, my parents decided that I’d really had enough.

    Like

  3. bubblymel says:

    Oh I love facials!!!! I am having one soon on a girls weekend!!! Your kids sound adorable!!! I never played much sport as a child but I am definitely going to encourage my son to! Soccer is very popular around here, as is Aussie Rules Football and Cricket!

    Like

Leave a Reply

