Meal Planning Monday and a Beaver Jaw

The last few months were really busy with school, so much so that I wasn’t really meal planning or even cooking.  That’s not usual for me.  The typical arrangement around here is that I cook and my husband cleans up.  It wasn’t pretty around here, with a lot more take-out and pre-packaged food in rotation than what I would like.  We often had our babysitter, or my husband,
prepare/heat up the food, so meals had to be quick and super-easy.  Now, I know there are tons of quick and healthy recipes out there, and I’m familiar with the whole “it takes longer to order take-out than it does to prepare a healthy meal” argument, but to be perfectly honest, healthy, fresh food moved down on the priority list as my schedule got fuller this term.  You know it’s bad when you cut back on showering to save time in your day.

I’ve got more time now that classes and exams are done, so along with showering more frequently,  it’s back to home cooking more often.    Now, in addition to wanting to cook from scratch more, I’ve also been reading about how Holly over at The Runny Egg has been using up the food she’s got on hand and stretching her grocery budget as part of a Grocery Challenge this month.  In the same spirit, I’m going to try to use up what I’ve got in my freezer, since there are things in there that probably haven’t seen the light of day in over a year.  For this week’s menu, here’s what I’m planning:

Monday – scrambled eggs, toast, and raw veggies; kids had a soccer game and practice tonight

Tuesday – Sweet and Sour Meatballs (a favourite family recipe – see below), quinoa, steamed broccoli (I think the stuff in the fridge is still good)

Wednesday – more soccer; Sticky Sesame Chicken thighs, quinoa, spinach side salad, peas

Thursday – multigrain fish fillets, crinkle-cut fries, oven roasted veggies

Friday – going out with friends

Not anything too exciting.  I’m still easing back into cooking and am not feeling that adventurous yet. 🙂

Also thought I’d share my family’s favourite sweet and sour meatball recipe:

This recipe comes from a cookbook dating back to 1977, which was 2 years after I was born.  The St. Brieux Parish Cookbook was so popular that they actually reprinted it when the town celebrated its 100th anniversary in 2004.  Talk about staying power.

Back to the meatball recipe, my mom usually makes this for one of the meals Christmas Day and it’s frequently requested by me, my siblings, and my kids.  And even though I use the same recipe, my kids insist that their grandma’s meatballs are better than mine.  Huh.

Relaxed some more today, but also met up with my trainer for a strength/aerobic workout.  It was good, of course, but my left hip is bothering me now.  That hip has been feeling really out of whack lately – it’s the one with the recurring IT band injury – and I’m seeing a physical therapist about it Wednesday morning.

And per Kat’s request, here are pics of the beaver jaw my kids found down at the lake on Saturday.  It’s actually the left half of the lower jaw (mandible).

And speaking of jaws (nice segue, right? haha), on the nutritional front, I food journaled and got my 4 servings of veggies today.

Any recipes that your entire family just loves?

8 thoughts on “Meal Planning Monday and a Beaver Jaw

  1. Holly says:

    That beaver jaw is hilarious!

    The meatballs sound fabulous — I was surprised to see rice krispies as an ingredient, but seems like they’d work well!

    Like

  2. Kat says:

    Ugh, I just realized I forgot to comment on this and after all of the agitating, what?

    Let me just say, I was wondering how you knew it was a Beaver jaw, but It Has The Fangs. That’s hysterical, really.

    Like

Leave a Reply

