Going home

I had grand plans to post about my summer goals today, but instead of doing that, I ended up doing a ton of other stuff and had a fantastic day.

We were at my parents’ today, having driven there last night to pick up our kids.  My parents live in a small town (population about 500) about an hour and a half away from us, and this is where I grew up.  Almost my entire extended family lives there, though many of my now-grown younger cousins have moved away for school and work.   My husband’s dad lives on a farm about a 25 min drive away.  Despite growing up in close proximity to each other, my husband and I didn’t meet until the end of my first year of university…but that’s a story for another time.

After heading to the local diner with the kids and my mom for a breakfast of eggs and toast, my husband took the kids and went to visit his dad and check out an old truck that they’re having restored.  Since I wasn’t interested in checking out the whole restoration process, I:

  • stuck around my parents’ place
  • had a lengthy chat with my sister on the phone
  • went for a 6k run
  • did some reading (I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore)
  • went with my mom and had tea with my grandparents
  • did some more reading
  • took a short nap while my kids kept waking me up to hug and kiss me (love the affection, but hate having a nap disrupted)
It was an absolutely beautiful day today.  Temperature in the low 20s (Celcius), light breeze, and sunny.  It started to cool off later in the day, of course, but since my parents have a fire pit, it was no problem.  Except for the smelling like a campfire afterward.

For supper, my parents took us out to a lot they have at the lake – I guess I didn’t mention that the town is about a mile from a lake? – where we had a wiener roast and made some s’mores.  So much fun!  The kids found a beaver skull, and my daughter was totally fascinated by it.  She insisted on bringing it home so she can bring it to school for show-and-tell on Tuesday.  Our kids learned about the dangers of playing on a pile of logs and around a fire.  No injuries were sustained or anything, but we had to stop them from doing inappropriate things a couple of times and explain why.
Although it wasn’t dark, my kids asked for a “scary story” from their grandpa.  They’re 5 and 7, so any truly scary campfire stories aren’t really appropriate, but so as not to disappoint them, my dad made one up on the fly.  At the end of it, my son declared, “That wasn’t very scary.”  My daughter concurred.  Despite the not-so-scary-ness of the story, it was a lot of fun watching them react as my dad related a tale of a boy and a girl who unwisely followed an ice cream truck into an isolated spot and were chased by a chainsaw-wielding man who had a long, dark beard; one green eye and one blue; and stood 6’6″.
My run in the morning was fine, but, holy man, I totally feel out of shape!  My pace is WAY slow, my heart rate was on the high side, and my left IT band definitely was unhappy at the end of the run.  Despite that, it was a pleasure to run today, with such beautiful weather, mostly on dirt/gravel, and enjoying the natural beauty of the lake.  I totally forgot that I wanted to take a picture to post it, so I guess I’ll have to another time.
7 thoughts on “Going home

  1. Ameena says:

    Your day sounds like my dream day…reading…relaxing…chatting…napping. I’ll pass on the 6k though, thank you very much! 🙂

    Have a lovely Sunday!

    Like

  2. bubblymel says:

    I love campfire smell!!! I would have been excited to find a beaver skull too! Glad you are enjoying your time off!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

