Pulling a Scarlett

I wrote 5 finals this week and survived.  Today’s exam was actually fairly reasonable but really long.  I took almost the whole 3 hours and was writing steadily the entire time.  5 more to go, but I’m officially half done.

After finishing the test today, I rewarded myself with a Napa Valley Chicken Salad from Jerry’s Food Emporium.  I think it’s one of my favourite salads ever: feta, raisins, sunflower and pumpkin seeds, grilled chicken, celery, julienned carrots, and a citrusy vinaigrette.  It’s like the perfect combo of sweet-salty-savoury-crunchy-chewy.  I also managed to resist buying myself a gelato while I was there, but I’ll have to check out the lemon meringue flavour some time soon.

Studied HARD for 2 1/2 hours this afternoon before taking my kids to a birthday party.  My husband met us there and I was going to head home and study, but I didn’t.  I stayed and visited with the other parents and watched the kids run around.  Still haven’t convinced myself to do anymore studying tonight.  I am officially tired and burnt out.  I’ve got a ton of material to get through this weekend, and it will be super-challenging to get through it all, but I think tonight is a write-off.  No rewards for me today!

On that note, I’m not even going to set any goals for tomorrow.  To quote Scarlett O’Hara, “I can’t think about that right now.  If I do, I’ll go crazy.  I’ll think about it tomorrow.”

6 thoughts on “Pulling a Scarlett

  1. Jolene (www.everydayfoodie.ca) says:

    Good for you for thinking about it tomorrow, and letting yourself rest tonight.

    Your hand must be SO sore from all the writing. Hang in there!

    Enjoy a good nights sleep, and you can get back at it tomorrow 🙂 Congrats on being half way through the toughest exam schedule I have ever heard of!

    Like

  2. Kat says:

    Lady, you definitely need to give yourself a mental break so that you can finish this round of finals strong! I hope that you’re able to relax enough to get away mentally, even if just for a little bit.

    p.s. Is this chicken salad like…over lettuce? Or is it like a meat and things salad?

    Like

Leave a Reply

