Good news/bad news

Less than 2 weeks of classes and clinics left.  Then 2 hard weeks of finals: 10 exams in 10 school days.  I have no idea why the school thinks that a series of exams like that allows me to demonstrate my knowledge.  It may be a fair assessment of my ability to memorize, manage stress, and survive on minimal sleep, though.

Went for a run on Sunday evening.  I tried to run as slowly as possible to keep my heart rate low and not stress out my IT band, and what ended up happening?  I ended up with IT band-related knee pain. Ugh.  This is definitely a sign that I need to place a greater priority on rehabbing my IT band and strengthening the muscles surrounding my left hip.  Unfortunately that has not been a high priority this school year.  It may not be the best time to start working on this now, what with a crap-load of work and studying to do right now, but I’m signed up to do a 5k in a couple of weeks and would love to actually run it!  Guess we’ll see how it goes.

On top of this “fun” injury, the stress of school is draining me right now, and I am finding myself with very low energy and terrible posture.  My shoulders are always up by my ears!  Can’t wait for this summer when I can get back to more regular strength training and running.  I may have to throw some massages and physical therapy in there, too.  Oh, and definitely more sleep and less time in front of a computer screen!

Think I’ll use the new gel pack I bought and ice my leg before I go to bed…

4 thoughts on “Good news/bad news

  1. Kat says:

    Lady, that’s such a bummer! Just keep on looking after that leg of yours – it sucks now, but a good heal in the short term will mean MUCH better things for you in the long term.

    Like

  2. Ameena says:

    I think massage can definitely do wonders for an injury like yours…definitely less time in front of a computer can’t hurt either. 🙂 I need to take my own advice!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

