Needing Perspective

It’s been quite the day.  I won’t get into the details of the school stuff that’s been causing me major stress, but it has been causing sleep problems off and on for several weeks now.  I woke up at 4:30am this morning and couldn’t get back to sleep.  I had a major meltdown this morning about a problem I’m dealing with at school, and then I had a bad-mommy moment with my daughter on the way to dropping my kids off at school.  It was the low point of my day and that’s saying quite a bit.

I wish I could just shake off this school stress, but I can’t.  Even my relaxation and deep sleep iTunes tracks aren’t doing the trick.  I can’t stop thinking about the problem, even though there’s not much more I can do about it, unfortunately.

I know that I should be taking better care of myself right now in terms of eating, water, and working out, and I’ve been making an effort to do just that, but I didn’t have a stellar day today.  I was short on veggies, didn’t drink enough water, missed my bootcamp workout because I had an appointment I couldn’t schedule any other time, and had a couple of treats more than I should have.

Eh, I know that this isn’t a lifelong situation and my problems really pale in comparison to those faced by the people of Japan, soldiers overseas, and those in Libya, etc., etc., but I am struggling with school right now.  I just hate it, and it’s spilling over into every aspect of my life so that it’s all-consuming.  I wish I could tell you more about what’s going on, but suffice to say it’s more of a personal matter than a schoolwork matter – although it has also turned into a schoolwork matter, now.  Wow, was that completely unclear or what?

I’m off to cram for a quiz some more.  I am super tired, but the one benefit of stress is that I feel too wound up to sleep right now. And since the stress will probably wake me up early, I should be able to get in one last review tomorrow.  Now that’s finding the the silver lining, isn’t it?  Ha.

Did I mention I hate school?  And that I’m paying tuition to get mentally effed over?

Trying to keep my chin up and all that other stuff,

Mostly Fit Mom

 

10 thoughts on “Needing Perspective

  1. Holly @ The Runny Egg says:

    Sorry I have no advice, but here is a (hug). Jason has had major struggles with work in the past and that has spilled into his life outside of work — it happens and it is so hard. Just keep doing the best you can. I’m not sure if this will help you or not — but when I am struggling I pray or I write things out. I tend to feel a little better after that.

    Like

  2. stacey says:

    Another hug coming your way Jo! You are an amazing woman and should be so proud of yourself. I hope that everything works out.

    Like

  3. Ameena says:

    I try to tell myself that my problems pale in comparison to those in Japan and yet my problems are still…problems. So I totally get where you are coming from!

    I hope that school gets better and that things turn around for you ASAP. Take care of yourself!!

    Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      Thanks! I’m feeling a bit better tonight, though my situation’s the same. You’re right, though: my problems are still problems, though obviously not life-threatening or anything. I’ll make it through. 🙂

      Like

  4. Kat says:

    I stay away from comparing my issues to the Japanese, rebelling Libyans or anything else because quite honestly (and God willing) I will never be in their position. And then you just feel unhappy, unvalidated and extremely guilty. Not cool.

    That being said, keep your head up, lady!

    Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      Yeah, I definitely see your point about comparisons. Sometimes it helps me a little to realize that my problems, however big they seem at the moment, are really not huge and will pass. I’ve just got to hang in there!

      Like

  5. Jolene (www.everydayfoodie.ca) says:

    I am so sorry to hear about your stress with school, and your sleep troubles. I had a breakdown like this about a year ago, and it was HORRIBLE. I cried everyday. I feel for you, and am sending hugs and good vibes your way.

    I hope something wonderful comes your way this week – you deserve it.

    Remember … when you are going through hell, keep going! You will make it through.

    Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      Thanks. It’s comforting in a way to know that other people have had similar experiences and have made it through intact. 🙂 Actually, I just got some good news this morning, so maybe things will start looking up!

      Like

Leave a Reply

