Me and My Life

Life Update:

I fell asleep at 8pm last night.  Our neighbour and her kids came over for a visit shortly thereafter and I was so out of it, I totally couldn’t wake myself up to chat.  I do remember her asking if I was feeling unwell, but my response was that it was just Friday.  Yup, I’m sure that made a lot of sense to her.  Here’s a little confession: school wipes me out so much that I usually fall asleep by 8:30pm on Friday nights, and I usually sleep until at least 7am, and often more like 8am.  On Friday nights, I usually get more sleep than my kids do.

At least my neighbour and my husband seemed to have a good visit.   My husband is telling me at this moment that next time he’ll send me upstairs to bed because he thought it was rude of me to fall asleep on the couch.  LOL.  And it probably was, but, geez, I was asleep.  It’s not like I was capable of deep thought.

Moving on to kid stuff, my son’s hockey season ended today, and last week was my daughter’s last hockey session for the year.  Soccer doesn’t start until May, so it looks like we get a bit of a break in running kids to activities.  Oh, who am I trying to kid – honestly, my husband did most of it, so it’ll free up his time more than mine.

I’m trying out this gel pack my husband bought at the local home show today.  It’s called Green Heat, so as you might imagine, it’s a warm rather than cold pack.  I’m trying one that’s designed to lie across the back of your neck and it gets really quite warm.  Hope it’ll help those muscles relax!

Also, my trainer is moving away and will be done working at the end of May.  What will I do?!?  I’ll be away myself this summer, so I’m thinking I need to – eek! – put together my own training plan to get me to my half marathon at the beginning of September.  I don’t really know how to do this at all, so here’s another confession: I like books, so I’ll probably buy 2 or 3 books on running and figure out some sort of training program.  I’m leaning towards Run Less, Run Faster by Pierce, Ross, and Murr and Daniels’ Running Formula by Jack Daniels.  I probably won’t get around to reading them until June, so I’ve got time to ponder.

Workout Update:

Had a 75 minute boot camp class this morning at 9am, so not too early, but early enough to get it out of the way so I could move on with my day.  It was a combination of your typical bootcamp strength/cardio circuit stuff (a variety of butt-kicking jump squats, pushups, lunges, etc.) and 3 (or was it 4?) x 10 minute spinning intervals.  The last spinning interval was a long climb and, in combination with the rest of the workout, my legs were totally shaking afterward.

Eating Update:

Thursday and Friday I met or surpassed my 4 servings of veggies target.  I was a little short on water on Thursday, but got 8 c in yesterday (if you include the Gatorade I consumed).  I didn’t track my food, though.

We went out for supper (or dinner, depending on what you call it where you live) on Thursday and it was delicious: a large green salad with julienned carrots, radishes, and citrus in a light vinaigrette; a little hummus on baguette; beef tenderloin with some sort of mushroom reduction, asparagus, and sun-dried tomato quinoa.  I was full, but when the waitress said that one of the creme brulee flavours was Grand Marnier white chocolate, I was hooked.  I couldn’t pass up creme brulee, though – it doesn’t exactly grow on trees around here!  Other than that, Thursday was a pretty good eating day.  Actually, Friday was okay, too.

What I ate today:

  • Breakfast: 1 slice raisin bread, 1 c skim milk with 1 tsp chocolate syrup, banana
  • Snack: mandarin orange, apple, 3/4 c cooked 5 grain cereal, 1/4 c raisins, 1 1/2 oz of ripple chips, 1/4 c M&Ms
  • Lunch: 2 Healthy Bake multigrain fish sticks, 2 c spinach, 1 tbsp dried berries, 1/2 tbsp raspberry vinaigrette, 1 tbsp feta
  • Snack: 1/2 banana, 1/2 c frozen blueberries, 1 c skim milk, 2 c spinach (all blended into a smoothie), 2 slices bread with 2 tsp margarine and 1 tbsp all-fruit jam
  • Supper: 1/3 of an order of Boston Pizza lasagna, garlic bread, and 1 piece of some sort of appetizer bread (holy carbs!)

I slept in this morning, though, so I had a slice of raisin bread instead of my usual oatmeal because I was concerned that the higher fibre content wouldn’t make my stomach happy during my workout, which was a short hour away.  I’m not sure it was a good choice because I was SO hungry after my workout.  As I found myself scrounging through my pantry and unable to withstand the Old Dutch Ripple Chips I found there, I thought I should just give in a EAT.  So, I had an orange, an apple, and some multigrain cereal with raisins.

I was still really hungry this afternoon.  Not sure if it’s because of my workout or what, but my appetite was unusually large today.  And, wow, the highly-processed-starch consumption wasn’t so good.

Goals Update:

Food journaling?  Check.  8 c of water?  Check.  4 Servings of veggies? Check.

Plan for Tomorrow:

  1. 4k run – as easy as I can manage and still call it running
  2. work on a school project
  3. study for a quiz on Wednesday
  4. book a patient for Monday morning
  5. other, smaller stuff

Are there any running books you really like and would recommend?

8 thoughts on “Me and My Life

  1. Jolene (www.everydayfoodie.ca) says:

    Don’t feel bad that you fell asleep so early on Friday – you have a lot on your plate! Rest up, and enjoy it whenever you can 🙂

    I really like Boston’s lasagna!! You have to ask for the perogy Stromboli there one time … it is not on the menu, but if you ask for it, they will make it for you! It is one of my favourite meals.

    Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      I haven’t had the perogy stromboli, but I think I’ve tried all of the other ones. I’ve been having the Healthy Alternatives chicken stromboli as of late – multigrain crust, baked not fried. I’ll have to keep the perogy one in mind next time we go.

      Like

  2. Holly says:

    I fall asleep early too — and I’ve fallen asleep while talking to friends in person or on the phone — so you are not alone 🙂 Your body was obviously screaming for rest!

    I think the only running book I have read is Hal Higdon’s book Marathon — but it was a while ago and to be honest, I don’t remember much of it!

    Like

  3. Kat says:

    I really want to read Born to Run, but I think that will be more inspirational than functional, you know?

    p.s. I swear by hot packs. Life changing.

    Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      Thanks! Bootcamp is sort of fun, in a grimacing-in-pain-but-it-hurts-so-good kind of way. I asked one of the instructors if it was okay for me to hate her a little bit, and she said it was fine. LOL. It’s a love-hate thing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

