It’s Been a Long Day

Did a better job in the eating department today, but was short on time bought lunch and supper.  Will be buying lunch again tomorrow, as I am currently cramming like a crazy fool for a midterm first thing tomorrow morning.
  • Breakfast: 3/4 c cooked oatmeal, almost 1/4 c raisins, 1 c skim milk
  • Snack: banana, Diet Pepsi, 600 mL water
  • Lunch (grabbed quickly – didn’t pack my lunch): pastrami sandwich on light rye from Starbucks; tall nonfat, sugar-free Earl Grey Tea Latte
  • Snack: 3/4 c yogurt, apple, 600 mL water
  • Supper: Apple, Pecan, and Chicken Salad from Wendy’s (disappointing, and not as basic and healthy as I was expecting), 5 rice crackers
  • Snack: 4 c light butter microwave popcorn

Consumed 600 mL water during my workout today and I’m working on another bottle right now, which will bring my total today up to 2.4 L (or roughly 10 c).  Considering I also had milk, yogurt and a Diet Pepsi (yes, apparently caffeinated beverages count toward your total liquid for the day), I’m feeling pretty well-hydrated.  8 cups of water today?  Check.  Posted my food journal?  Check.  4 servings of veggies?  Not quite, but at 3 servings (in the salad), I was quite a bit closer today than yesterday.  Small victories, right?

Had my first bootcamp class tonight, and it kicked my a**.  Triceps, hamstrings, glutes, and quads all got a very excellent workout, and the abs portion wasn’t too shabby, either.

You may remember that my daughter was sick last week, so it may come as no surprise that my son is sick tonight.  Fortunately, he didn’t get sick in the middle of the night.  Unfortunately, he started projectile vomiting in the back of my husband’s vehicle…in the middle of the freeway…and aimed for the seats and his sister rather than the floor.  Glad I didn’t have to clean that up!

Okay, so I must get back to cramming for a midterm I write tomorrow morning at 8:30am.  I’m really not well-prepared at all for this test and haven’t even gone through everything once.  However, as I type this, my eyes are already getting heavy, so I think I’ll finish the first pass through the material and then get up early tomorrow for some last-minute cramming.  I know that very soon I won’t be able to keep my eyes open, and that’s really not the optimal time to be learning, is it?  I’m really wishing I c\would have focused more on studying and procrastinated less this past weekend.  I feel like I’m having mental block with regard to school work right now: I just am feeling so burnt out that I’m having a hard time making myself buckle down.

What do you do to make sure you eat your veggies and stay hydrated?

4 thoughts on “It’s Been a Long Day

  1. Holly says:

    “and aimed for the seats and his sister rather than the floor” — your poor kids! I don’t like getting sick and I sure wouldn’t want someone getting sick on me! I hope everyone is healthy soon!

    I try to pack 1 serving of veggies as a snack and I have a salad (sometimes small) along with my lunch and dinner — that way if my meal isn’t loaded with veggies I still get plenty in.

    Water is no problem for me — I have a 24 oz camelbak water bottle from Target (that I love) and I refill it at least 2x while I’m work and at least 1x at home — plus more when I workout. I also drink lots or tea so I’m fine with liquids!

    Like

  2. Kat says:

    1. Children vomiting is the #1 reason I cite when I’m explaining to people why Marcus and I are simply nowhere near being ready to have them.

    2. I eat a piece of fruit in my breakfast (banana/apple pie/peach oats), I have fruit for my mid-morning and mid-afternoon snacks. Dinner has to include 1 veggie (and if I eat said leftovers for lunch the next day, that takes care of that). And lately, I’ve been on a huge kick to eat a salad before dinner. Basically, I make it mandatory.

    Like

Leave a Reply

