Embarrassing, But True

Per yesterday’s post, I set out a few nutritional goals for the week, including posting my food journal at least 4 days this week.  Now, I’ll admit off the bat that I considered not posting what I consumed today because it was a fairly unhealthy day for me.  But, it’s been said that the truth will set you free, so in keeping with the spirit of enlightenment-through-confession embodied in that cliche, here’s what I ate today:

  • Breakfast: Zone bar
  • Lunch: 3 pieces of chicken, spinach, tomato, and feta pizza, can of Diet Coke
  • Supper: meatloaf, 1/4 c brown rice, 1/3 c Smart Pasta rotini, 1 1/2 c spinach with 1 tsp raspberry vinaigrette, 1 tbsp raisins, 1/2 tsp sunflower seeds, 1/2 tbsp feta
  • Snack: Cadbury Fruit and Nut chocolate bar, 1/3 of a Big Turk chocolate bar

2 things about this:

  1. I can’t believe this is what I actually consumed today.  Just, gross.
  2. I also can’t believe I just posted this where anyone can read it. *covers her face*

Ah well, now you know what a bad day of eating looks like for me.  Judge away!

I would like to say that I don’t usually eat this poorly, but I guess that remains to be seen as I continue to document my food intake this week.  Despite my a) heavy consumption of starchy and processed foods and b) failure to consume a decent amount of fruit and vegetables, I did manage to down 8 cups of water today.  However, ALL of those were after 6pm.  I’m not kidding.  Think I might have been dehydrated at all during the day?  Crazy, right?

Now, back to studying periodontal surgery.  I am telling you, after what I’ve seen: floss and brush, people.  Floss. And. Brush.

Do you keep a food journal?  Paper or electronic?  Are you ever sort of appalled at what you record?

5 thoughts on “Embarrassing, But True

  1. Holly says:

    Yes I keep a food journal — and sometimes my menu looks like yours! I think those days are helpful because (for me at least) it lets me see where I’m at and what I can improve on!

    Like

  2. Angela (the diet book junkie) says:

    oh girl, i think we’ve ALLL been there (especially me as of late.) i’ve never kept a food journal but i’m not sure i have to. i eat the same foods every day! (no joke. breakfast and lunch only vary slightly from day to day.) i know this isn’t good though, they say you’re supposed to eat an “array” of vegetables, but i just find it hard to buy a lot without wasting food. more importantly though, i need to focus on protein! these muscles are sure asking for it.

    Like

  3. Kat says:

    I food journal via a post-it on the counter. Since I bring my lunch/snacks to work, that basically seals the deal as far as I’m concerned.

    We all have those days lady – acknowledging that they happen is really the key to getting everything under control.

    Like

  4. stacey says:

    I totally track my food, otherwise I would go crazy. I am a carb addict and have learned many times the hard way to deal with this…yes I treat it like a true addiction. As a bit of a control freak it give me comfort. Also not hiding it from people helps, it really keeps me accountable to what I put in my body and understanding that food reacts differently for all people. It is amazing when you wake up from a good day how good you feel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

