Is It Really March?

How is it that February always feels so long, when it’s the shortest month of the year?  The cold and dark seem harder to bear, somehow.  Now that it’s March, at least it seems possible that spring might arrive, though at this moment, it’s really frickin’ cold out where I am (-20 C, feels like -31 C with the wind chill, and snowing) and the cold is supposed to stick around for awhile.  Blech.  Is it really March, because it sure doesn’t feel like it.

As a way to boost my spirits, I decided that one of my goals this week is to plan something fun for later this month.  I mentioned the idea of a date night to my husband (or maybe even a date overnight?) and he’s onboard.  However, my school schedule is pretty busy, what with midterms and a research project due soon, so I’m going to have to sit down and take a hard look at my schedule and see when I can fit in an evening away from the books – one where I’m not so exhausted that I fall asleep by 8:30pm.  I’m hoping for sooner rather than later, but we’ll see.

Still under the weather today.  Stayed home this morning and slept until 11am, then went into school because I had a patient booked.  Luckily it was a short appointment and I was home relatively early.  I’m thinking that if things don’t improve by Friday, I’m going to have visit to my doctor and make sure I don’t have some sort of infection going on.  Here’s hoping that I feel a little more chipper and a little less like I was hit by a bus tomorrow morning!

Oh, and I haven’t booked that massage yet, but I definitely will tomorrow.  I’ll wait until I’m sure I don’t have a virus to pass on before I go, though.  How do you pamper yourself when you’re feeling rundown?

 

8 thoughts on “Is It Really March?

  1. maryeggers says:

    I think you of all people need to pamper yourself. Seriously, how many balls do you keep in the air sister???? Get a pedicure. It doens’t take a lot of time, isn’t expensive, and it feels really really good. Initially I resisted pedicures thinking that I needed my feet to be rough for running…… not so (Plus i am a yoga teacher, people look at my feet 🙂

    You are on your feet all day long. Let someone else take care of them!

    Like

    • mostlyfitmom says:

      You know what? I think I’m going to book myself a pedicure, so that I have something to look forward to in a few weeks. Great suggestion, Mary! I love your reason for getting a pedi, by the way – “I’m a yoga teacher and people look at my feet.” Sounds like a great reason to me.

      Like

  2. Angela (the diet book junkie) says:

    i just can’t believe it’s till that cold over there! i’ve asked my friends here in Oz if they know what “windchill” is and they look at me completely confused. (and here i always thought it was a universal term. 😛 )

    going to the doctor sounds like a good idea, just to be safe. hope you’re feeling better soon! book that massage, girl!!

    Like

  3. Kat says:

    My ongoing pamper-loop involves wine, chocolate and DIY mani/pedi arrangements. Highly recommend. You definitely deserve some self-love!

    Separately, definitely go to the doctor if your bod isn’t feeling so hot from the vacation. No need to play host to a potpourri of bizarre parasites/bugs. I hope you feel better soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

